Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
I thought it was wonderful and really moist. This is a recipe I will be using alot. A good way to use up leftover morning coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This cake is so nice l thought l wouldn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisham, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
What I did was I baked it shorter than the given time. And it was really nice! or should I say--almost perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I've made this cake several times. My family loves it. It's my husbands favorite chocolate cake. I first tried it when it had 5 stars, and was suprised when I came back to it and it only had 3 stars. Not Dry, but how could it be with with a cup of coffee, a cup of buttermilk, and 1/2 cup of oil. I only baked it for 35 minutes. ( that's when the toothpick came out clean). WE LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I made this cake in the 2 9" rounds. I ran out of cocoa powder and had to substitute 1 oz unsweetened chocolate for 1/4 cup. Worked fine. The baking time is definately off. I baked for 30 minutes and it was a little dry. Will start testing at 20 minutes next time. Otherwise, it's a great cake. The batter was very nice and thick. Be sure to beat the butter and sugar until fluffy, a good 7-10 minutes. Maybe that is where previous reviewers had dryness problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gehnt
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
After reading some of the reviews about it being too dry I decided to add an extra 1/4 cup of butter and 1 tablespoon of oil then reduced the cooking time to 30mins. It turned out deliciously rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
the flavour is great. clearly an error was made in typing. It needs a cup ofmilk and some oil. The cake was ok because I served it for my daughter's birthday with some ice cream. I am sure the milk and oil would go a long way with moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
this cake was madd dry. it was falling apart everywhere. it was the worst lookin cake i ever made. it was edible so i gave it 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
It was EXTREMELY dry. I could barely eat it. The flavor was not THAT good, but WAS good at the same time. Next time I won't make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Moist? NOT! I learned a lesson here - READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE PROCEEDING! This cake was sooooo disappointing. There is NO LIQUID in the ingredients list. This cake is the anti-moist cake. I recommend you remove this recipe from your site. . . It doesn't produce an enjoyable result. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States