Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by gehnt
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
After reading some of the reviews about it being too dry I decided to add an extra 1/4 cup of butter and 1 tablespoon of oil then reduced the cooking time to 30mins. It turned out deliciously rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I made this cake in the 2 9" rounds. I ran out of cocoa powder and had to substitute 1 oz unsweetened chocolate for 1/4 cup. Worked fine. The baking time is definately off. I baked for 30 minutes and it was a little dry. Will start testing at 20 minutes next time. Otherwise, it's a great cake. The batter was very nice and thick. Be sure to beat the butter and sugar until fluffy, a good 7-10 minutes. Maybe that is where previous reviewers had dryness problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
The frosting was outstanding, however the cake was incredibly dry. I even added an extra egg when I noticed how thick the mix was. Yes, oil or water or both were needed for this cake to be a success, maybe it just was forgotten when typed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rio Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This cake is so nice l thought l wouldn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisham, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I am baking the cake at this very minute but I had a hard time following the directions. I had my fingers crossed that it will come out OK but it didn't. Sorry Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
the flavour is great. clearly an error was made in typing. It needs a cup ofmilk and some oil. The cake was ok because I served it for my daughter's birthday with some ice cream. I am sure the milk and oil would go a long way with moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Unfortunately I made this cake for my Dad's birthday, it looked like a cow pie, and was so dry that one needed a gallon of milk to choke down this monstrosity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This cake was dry even when trying to mix it. I added 1Cup of water and an additional cup of sugar. Keep poking with a wooden toothpick until it comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
this cake was madd dry. it was falling apart everywhere. it was the worst lookin cake i ever made. it was edible so i gave it 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
Unless I did something terribly wrong. This was unbelievable dry. I even cut the 45 min bake time.The frosting recipe did not make enough to even cover cake. The cake was to dry to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States