Moist Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I make this carrot cake all the time. It's absolutely delicious and so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is the same recipe I have been using for years -- everyone raves over it. People swear it is the best carrot cake they have ever had. I got it from my mother, who got it from her father. Mine calls for pecans instead of walnuts. Other recipes don't include the can of crushed pineapple, but it makes it so moist. I use a bag of grated carrots from the store which makes prepping super easy. Also fantastic for cupcakes with lots of cream cheese frosting. Incredibly rich. Even people that don't like carrot cake love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
The cake was delicious. My deviations were: I added 1 cup of oil and 1/2 c of applesauce. I also used raisins instead of coconut. I will use this recipe always. I made best carrot cake in the world, also on this site, was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I had to make a few changes to this recipe for it to work. There was way too much oil and wasn't cakey enough. I changed the oil to 1/2 cup oil and added 1 cup applesauce, increased the flour to 2 1/2 cups and decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Baked in my gas oven for 45 - 50 minutes in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I needed a great recipe for making Carrot Cake for my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration. I made 7 of these cakes, modifying the recipe to reduce the oil to 1 cup and the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I also added raisins. I made them a week in advance, froze them and the day before I finished them with my own cream cheese frosting recipe, but the cake was a huge hit, with all 112 servings gone! It was a very well liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyberlefty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Western, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Made this and it came out extremely delicious. It was a tad oily so I would use a little less oil next time around. But got a lot of wonderful compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this for a 9" cake tin, approximately halving the ingredients as described and using MommyfromSeattle's suggestion of replacing about 2/3 the oil with applesauce (and thoroughly squeezing the crushed pineapple). Finished it with a Cream Cheese II topping. The cake was very moist but not soggy and I've been obliged to make again (twice) in the last two months. For someone who's a novice it's straightforward to make and I was able to produce a consistent result over three attempts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Followed this recipe with the addition of 1 C. raisins and it was a HIT. VERY moist. This will be my new carrot cake go -to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Took this to a going away party and everyone said it was great! Even people who didn't usually like carrot cake said so! Very flavourful and moist...much better than Carrot Cake III. I used 3 large eggs, 1 3/4 cups sugar, dash of ground cloves, 3/4 cup veg. oil, 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1/4 cup buttermilk, 1/2 chopped toasted pecans and 1/3 cup sultana raisins. After I frosted it with cream cheese frosting I topped it with toasted sweetened coconut. Next time I'll try a few adjustments with different spices. Easy to make and tastes great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This carrot cake is delicious. It was gone instantly and everyone asked me when I will make it again. I did not use the 2 cups of sugar I used 1 1/4 cup. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States