Moist Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Mix the bananas and mayo together first, then add the dry ingredients. I made it in my KitchenAide mixer - VERY moist - no need to add any other liquid. Oh, delicious!! I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This one is A KEEPER! I have been searching for the perfect banana bread/muffin recipe for years, and I have finally found it. For those of you who may be thinking "Mayonnaise! What???" do not fear, there is no residual mayonnaise taste in these muffins whatsoever. If you think about it, mayo is really just egg whites and vinegar, which often appear together in cake recipes. And these are very cake-y indeed. Even my banana-phobic brother in law couldn't get enough of these. Also, to the reviewer who found the recipe not liquid-y enough, something must have gone horribly wrong. You do have to make sure that you choose bananas that are past their prime, they'll break down into liquid and sugar better/faster. Also, the mayo makes this recipe a little more "sticky" than the typical quickbread batter. Just go with it, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
there is no liquid in this recipe therefore it was floury and wouldn't mix in - I had to add 1 cup of milk. I did not care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
these are easily the best banana muffins I've ever made. I generally don't keep real mayo, so I usually have my kids make the muffins after I make the mayo. I didn't realize the recipe was backward until after I had already went on autopilot and done it the way I usually do, adding dry to wet ingredients. I have also made these with just under a cup of pumpkin puree instead of the bananas, adding a bit of pumpkin pie spice, and it was still wonderful! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Henson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sibley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I brought these on a bar crawl. Incredibly loud drunk people were silenced by these muffins. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These muffins are the answer to my over-ripened bananas! I used mayo with olive oil and sub'd brown sugar for the white. They came out so delicious and moist! No need for added liquid; as stated in previous reviews, mash the bananas and mayo and then add the dry ingredients. I think next time I'll sub quinoa flour for the all-purpose to give it a more nutty-earthy flavor and perhaps add some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Great Bend, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Good recipe! Soooo moist that they were a little sticky. I recommend leaving them in a little longer than 20 minutes. That being said, I still ate 6 muffins this evening after making them. I also added some crushed walnuts and copious amounts of chcolate chips. I doubled the recipe and it made 36 good sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
The title doesn't lie...these are absolutely delicious and so moist! The mayonnaise is a great trick, cannot taste at all and definitely adds to the moisture level. I too combined the bananas and mayo first then stirred in dry ingredients and it worked perfectly. Added a teaspoon of vanilla also. I got 18 muffins out of this and they only took about 15 minutes in my oven. Got rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I just made these and they are easy and delicious. I added nuts and chocolate chips. I followed the advice of mashing the bananas & mayo first, then added the dry ingredients. It was the perfect consistency. I also got 18 muffins out of the 12 muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Beers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelayres, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These were wonderful! As the other reviewers have said I mixed the bananas and the mayo(actually light miracle whip) together first and then I added to the dry ingredients. It was a bit dry still so I added justm a touch of milk and then it was perfect. SOOO moist. Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States