Moist and Savory Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I make this for the holiday's but I alway add extra sage or poultry seasoning, some melted butter along with the broth, sauted onions and celery put it in a casserole and bake it covered @350 for 30 min or so in the oven. I think it comes out much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I just wanted to add that when I make this stuffing, I also add browned, crumbled sage-flavored pork sausage. Mix a couple of tablespoons butter or margarine, extra sage, fresh herbs of your choice into the broth, and don't forget to add chopped walnuts or pecans for some crunch. The celery and onions will add crunch too if not chopped too fine. Can't wait to have Thanksgiving dinner..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I use Pepperidge Farm Herb Seasoned Stuffing each Thanksgiving...but I add a pan of homemade cornbread, much more onion and celery which I sautee first, I also add an egg and much more broth. The herb dressing just adds the herb flavoring for the dressing and I have been making it this way for years and everyone always wants the recipe. I just guess at the ingredients until it is the consistancy that I want. Try this and add anything you want and you will see how easy it is. Alex
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Pepperidge Farm makes delicious Stuffing cubes & crumbs. It does need more chicken broth than listed here & I always add butter & more herbs, i.e.; sage, rosemary, parsley. Chopped apple is tasty in this as well. It is good inside the turkey or baked as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I am usually against using processed, prepared ingredients in almost everything. But this stuffing recipe is so 'right' to my and my family's taste that we would all feel as though Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners were 'wrong' without it. We much prefer the flavors and texture of this very traditional stuffing to ones that contains lumps of fruit, etc. I highly recommend it for anyone who misses their grandmother's stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Nice simple recipe for classic homestyle stuffing. And it's a great accompaniment to roast chicken or a Thanksgiving turkey. Plus it's a great base for add-in's so you can put your own twist on it. I added a little poultry seasoning, thyme and sage. I also added a little melted butter for some additional moistness and flavor. Next time I might add in some sauage, apples or cranberries - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
this was rather bland. ok if very short on time. better to make your own cornbread and crumble it. use lots of onion, celery and bellpeper. season well with salt, pepper and mrs dash original. use good brand of chicken broth and bake till golden on top and still moist inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Found this similar recipe on the Campbell's site, but it called for more broth and had better reviews, so I went with that recipe, but it was still not good. VERY VERY dry, and I tried adding more chicken broth, and it didn't help. Stove Top would've been better! Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Tasted like it came out of theturkey withought the funky flavor.. but a stalk is way to much celery and i had to add allot of hot water to get it to moisten anywhere nere where it should be. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of two k's

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Moist and Savory Stuffing

See how to make a simple, savory herb-seasoned stuffing.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States