Moe's Fabulous Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Mmmmmm...delish! These were fabulous. I substituted cream for the whole milk, and only used about 1 T butter. Did not use the nutmeg, but put about 1 1/2 t kosher salt in along with a generous sprinkling of white pepper. I didn't peel the potatoes because I'm lazy and also like them that way. They were the most delicious potatoes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These mashed potatoes were seriously awesome. And the recipe is easy enough for a novice! My husband made them and even though I'm no expert he *never* cooks and they came out great! Super creamy without having to add cream cheese. I did sub 1/4 of the milk with 1/4 whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I made this for a friend and her husband (she had a baby - with a C-section cut) and they absolutely loved it! Using those Yukon Golds gave it a more rich and hearty taste than regular potaotes. Although they're a lil' more pricier, but they are worth it! Watch the kosher salt though I 'poured' a little too much and it made them salty - but good! lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismajestic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Great recipe. The nutmeg adds an interesting flavor that reminded me of Thanksgiving. I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Fabulous! I was looking for a bit healthier version so I kept the skins on, used "Smart Balance® Butter Blend Stick", and used 2% milk. I really think the Yukon Gold potatoes were the difference in the texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Great tasting! Kids loved them! Good idea to use white pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef BradFoods
Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I picked up Yukons by mistake, but really wanted to make mashers, so I used this recipe. Spot on with the Yukons! The texture is different, but we enjoyed it. I left out the nutmeg (just seemed odd to me), used skim milk, and added a little extra butter. Oh! I used my leftovers to make Tender Potato Biscuits from this site. These were great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
yes...this is the recipe i've been looking for. forget the garlic and the fancy mixes. we love this one...didn't use nutmeg and they were still the #1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These are very creamy and delicious. I used heavy cream instead of whole milk, because that's what I had. I will use heavy cream every time, though. I believe that's what made these so creamy. My entire family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great! I just added an extra stick of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabby_shy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Alda, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States