Modern Pasta e Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is so to-die-for! I subbed frozen spinach. Also added italian seasoning since I didn't have italian-style diced tomatoes. Didn't use as much broth as called for so it was thicker. Mmmmm...this is going to be a regular go-to dish. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Take it easy there Jim. No one is crazy. A good cook knows not to utilize full sodium broths with other canned items for fear of salt overload. Be conscientious of your ingredients, using fresh vs processed. It should also be mentioned that most restaurant soups tip the sodium scale in a bad way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very good, easy recipe. I did simmer the collards for longer than suggested because they needed to cook down longer. I sliced up some fresh grape tomatoes and basil instead of using canned, and the flavors of this soup are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was good, a bit on the spicy side. I used spinach in place of the collard greens. I wanted something quick and easy for supper so I didn't want to take the chance of having to cook collards for 40 minutes. I love pasta so to me there could never be too much, but there definitely needed to be more beans. I would make this again with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Made half a recipe. I wasn't sure about the collard greens, so I even used less of them. However, I used the amount of beans and tomatoes listed. I still didn't feel it had enough beans. It was more like a Pasta e Pasta e a tiny bit of Fagioli. I cooked the greens for about 40 minutes instead of 10 as some people have suggested, but I still don't think that was long enough. Even with 1/2 a recipe, there was plenty of soup to feed 4 people. The recipe here would surely feed at least 8, which is what I assumed with a full box of pasta and 4 quarts of broth. I also would suggest using either low sodium broth, part broth part water, low sodium tomatoes or some combination of these, as our soup turned out quite salty using regular chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by What you cooking Willis?
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe, although being half black I felt I had to cook the collards much longer than 10 mins, more like 40. Next time i might use less pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I really enjoyed this soup. It came together so easily and I loved that it was meat free. I had never had collard greens. They were interesting but not sure I would use them again in this. I would prefer using spinach. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This was an easy recipe that produced a great result! The pasta held the flavor nicely, and it was even better the next day! * Note - be sure to use a REALLY large pot in the first step! I plan to try with spinach in place of collard greens next time, adding it after cooking the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
So, I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I made a few changes because I felt that the recipe needed an Italian meat flavor, and I couldn't imagine that you could cook collard greens in 10 minutes. Here are my changes: To the onions/garlic/red pepper flakes, I added about 4oz chopped prosciutto (although I think pancetta would be better). Oh, and I added 1 T butter while sautéing. Next change: I simmered the collard greens in the chicken broth for 45 minutes. I tasted the collards after 10min and truly they needed to be cooked much longer, more traditionally. I didn't have canned Italian diced tomatoes, so I used three fresh tomatoes, diced. I added one whole zucchini, diced. And, I created a spice packet w/cheesecloth and put in it 1 sprig rosemary, 1 sprig thyme, and 2 bay leaves. I let everything simmer for probably another 30 min before adding the pasta. I didn't have shells on hand, so I used Barilla's ditalini, which turned out perfectly. One more change: I used my immersion blender and blended the soup a few times, not very much at all. Thought it would just be a side meal for dinner tonight, but turned out everyone had to have it for lunch. A++++++ Thanks, Barilla!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ditalini Pasta Salad

Iowa inspires a simple pasta salad with corn, beans, avocado, and cotija cheese.

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States