Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Like others I agree this does not taste like tuna, but similar to tuna SALAD. I made it how I usually make tuna salad (no sweet pickle relish, but dill). I also put the cheakpeas in the blender and added a little water so it wasn't so dry. Overall a tasty sandwhich spread and a decent alternative to tuna SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
GET OUT! What a wonderful surprise. Just as flavorful and less expensive than tuna. Used your favorite tuna salad mix-ins. I used chopped celery and sweet pickle, grated white onion, honey dijon mustard, mayo, curry powder and dill weed. Do microwave your beans briefly to warm. This makes the beans easier to mash. Then mix to your desired consistency. Even my 13 year-old (who despises tuna/mayo) wants me to make more. Such a great versatile recipe and can even be used as an extender for tuna salad if you really want the fish factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe making changes for ingredients I didn't have: dijon mustard for spicy brown and minced sweet pickles for sweet relish (which I haven't been able to find in Spain - sob!), and used low fat mayo for a lighter version. I used fresh chickpeas rather than canned but I'm sure canned would be good too. I put the chickpeas in my hand blender attachment for chopping and mixing. Transferred to a bowl then mixed in all the other ingredients. It's so simple, fast and tastes great. I usually serve it inside a pita with lettuce, tomato and such. Thank you so much for this recipe! It deserves more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Love this recipe! Takes minutes to make and is so good on crackers, I could eat the whole batch in one sitting! Doesn't taste like tuna salad to me, but since I don't like tuna salad all that much, that was not a bad thing! I ran out of chick peas and tried with it white beans instead and it was good too. Prefer the texture when I made with a potato masher as instead of in a food processor (and it was less clean up!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This dish wasn't bad but it was interesting. Very tangy and more of the consistency of potato salad than tuna. Not bad, but probably nothing I would crave again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Made this vegan with vegan mayo. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
better than tuna salad, no gross tuna can smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this recipe. It can be eaten in a sandwich, on crackers, stuffed in celery, or straight up. So good and good for you. It tastes like a tuna or egg salad sandwich in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great recipe! Gotta love mock tuna. I microwave my drained chickpeas for 3 minutes first to make them easier to mash, and I add some Sriracha hotsauce to give it some bite. I think the sweet pickle relish is a really important part of this... you could definitely add more or less mayo to your own tastes but the relish is what makes it taste like tuna. Yum! Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
While this doesn't really taste like tuna salad to me, I do love it. Lots. Inexpensive and a decent source of protein. I mash the beans with a fork rather than using a blender because I enjoy the texture. Yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennafir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States