Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This does taste strangely similar to tuna, but has a very strange flavour I didn't like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
i am vegetarian so i still use eggs and prepared this as i would have tuna salad with miracle whip, eggs, relish, as my basics i did experiment with the mustard, salt and seasoned salt - and will try green onions next time - my fam thought they were eating the real thing and thoroughly enjoyed it Can be used as a dip or when eating as sandwich try placing a slice or two of tomato and yum yum thank u its pretty economical too better than buying meat substitutes for your childs lunch etc . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Like others I agree this does not taste like tuna, but similar to tuna SALAD. I made it how I usually make tuna salad (no sweet pickle relish, but dill). I also put the cheakpeas in the blender and added a little water so it wasn't so dry. Overall a tasty sandwhich spread and a decent alternative to tuna SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
GET OUT! What a wonderful surprise. Just as flavorful and less expensive than tuna. Used your favorite tuna salad mix-ins. I used chopped celery and sweet pickle, grated white onion, honey dijon mustard, mayo, curry powder and dill weed. Do microwave your beans briefly to warm. This makes the beans easier to mash. Then mix to your desired consistency. Even my 13 year-old (who despises tuna/mayo) wants me to make more. Such a great versatile recipe and can even be used as an extender for tuna salad if you really want the fish factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe making changes for ingredients I didn't have: dijon mustard for spicy brown and minced sweet pickles for sweet relish (which I haven't been able to find in Spain - sob!), and used low fat mayo for a lighter version. I used fresh chickpeas rather than canned but I'm sure canned would be good too. I put the chickpeas in my hand blender attachment for chopping and mixing. Transferred to a bowl then mixed in all the other ingredients. It's so simple, fast and tastes great. I usually serve it inside a pita with lettuce, tomato and such. Thank you so much for this recipe! It deserves more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Love this recipe! Takes minutes to make and is so good on crackers, I could eat the whole batch in one sitting! Doesn't taste like tuna salad to me, but since I don't like tuna salad all that much, that was not a bad thing! I ran out of chick peas and tried with it white beans instead and it was good too. Prefer the texture when I made with a potato masher as instead of in a food processor (and it was less clean up!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This dish wasn't bad but it was interesting. Very tangy and more of the consistency of potato salad than tuna. Not bad, but probably nothing I would crave again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Made this vegan with vegan mayo. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
better than tuna salad, no gross tuna can smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this recipe. It can be eaten in a sandwich, on crackers, stuffed in celery, or straight up. So good and good for you. It tastes like a tuna or egg salad sandwich in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States