Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
It does have a taste and texture reminiscent of tuna salad if the beans are well mashed. Not quite, but would make a fine substitute for a vegan. In any case it makes a great sandwich spread, and a good way to put inexpensive, nutritious garbanzo beans to use. 4 stars, because 5 stars means it couldn't possibly be any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I make it all the time i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and this is delicious! I've been vegetarian for 15 years so I think this tastes like tuna salad. My husband just converted a year ago and says it doesn't taste like tuna but we both agree this recipe is fantastic on toast or saltines. Nice job - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was good! I get so tired of eating the same stuff for lunch all the time, so it was nice to see a healthy, meatless alternative that was a little different. It was pretty tasty too--I'll definitely be making it again--I made a sandwich out of it with lettuce and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EClark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
WOW!! I had an overabundance fo chickpeas in my pantry because I love to make homemade hummus. I came across this & decided to try it and WOW! It is awesome! I increased mayo, mustard & such and used dill relish because I prefer it. This is really delicious and goes together so quickly and easily! ANd without the tuna "fishy" smell that I loathe. Love, love, love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great! I didn't have all the ingredients so used regular onion, honey mustard instead of spicy, light mayo and no relish. I added a little garlic salt. It was extremely tasty -- I will have garbanzo beans on my weekly grocery list for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I'm a vegetarian too and was amazed at how good this is! I made a batch up, ate it as a sandwich and then used the rest to make tuna noodle casserole the next night. Great substitute! Although next time I wont add relish, that was a little strange in the casserole. but this will be a new staple in the pantry! Very filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannahbelle
Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was fantastic. Typically I don't like sweet pickle relish, but it tasted great in this recipe. The mock tuna salad tasted like gas station tuna salad, which I am sorry to say, I actually used to enjoy on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I wish I could give this 10 stars. I love this recipe. I made a huge batch this time, using about 2/3 a pound of garbanzo beans. I soaked and cooked them myself. I put the garbanzo beans in the food processor first until they are very smooth, then I build the rest. I added 4 stalks of celery and half of a white onion instead of green onions. It did taste quite a bit like tuna salad and was as easy as it gets and super cheap!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Meine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
WOW!! This was so yummy!! Just finished eating it for dinner. A great way to try chickpeas for the first time. I made it into a lettuce wrap with some tomato and red onion--perfect! I used plain yogurt in place of mayo,added some thai chiles,omitted the salt, and used dry chickpeas that I had cooked up instead of canned. Followed the recipe otherwise. You can pretty much do anything to it that you would normally do to tuna salad. Doesn't really taste like tuna but it definitely has the same consistency as tuna. Next time I will throw the chickpeas in my food processor instead of mashing. This was delicious, and I will keep chickpeas on hand all the time for a quick, yummy lunch. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96

Displaying results 61-70 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States