Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Fantastic. My husband, the meat lover, loved this. In my opinion it has 1 teaspoon too many of mustard, but otherwise, it's going to be a staple in our diet. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
It does have a taste and texture reminiscent of tuna salad if the beans are well mashed. Not quite, but would make a fine substitute for a vegan. In any case it makes a great sandwich spread, and a good way to put inexpensive, nutritious garbanzo beans to use. 4 stars, because 5 stars means it couldn't possibly be any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I make it all the time i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and this is delicious! I've been vegetarian for 15 years so I think this tastes like tuna salad. My husband just converted a year ago and says it doesn't taste like tuna but we both agree this recipe is fantastic on toast or saltines. Nice job - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was good! I get so tired of eating the same stuff for lunch all the time, so it was nice to see a healthy, meatless alternative that was a little different. It was pretty tasty too--I'll definitely be making it again--I made a sandwich out of it with lettuce and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EClark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
WOW!! I had an overabundance fo chickpeas in my pantry because I love to make homemade hummus. I came across this & decided to try it and WOW! It is awesome! I increased mayo, mustard & such and used dill relish because I prefer it. This is really delicious and goes together so quickly and easily! ANd without the tuna "fishy" smell that I loathe. Love, love, love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great! I didn't have all the ingredients so used regular onion, honey mustard instead of spicy, light mayo and no relish. I added a little garlic salt. It was extremely tasty -- I will have garbanzo beans on my weekly grocery list for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I'm a vegetarian too and was amazed at how good this is! I made a batch up, ate it as a sandwich and then used the rest to make tuna noodle casserole the next night. Great substitute! Although next time I wont add relish, that was a little strange in the casserole. but this will be a new staple in the pantry! Very filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannahbelle
Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was fantastic. Typically I don't like sweet pickle relish, but it tasted great in this recipe. The mock tuna salad tasted like gas station tuna salad, which I am sorry to say, I actually used to enjoy on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I wish I could give this 10 stars. I love this recipe. I made a huge batch this time, using about 2/3 a pound of garbanzo beans. I soaked and cooked them myself. I put the garbanzo beans in the food processor first until they are very smooth, then I build the rest. I added 4 stalks of celery and half of a white onion instead of green onions. It did taste quite a bit like tuna salad and was as easy as it gets and super cheap!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Meine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States