Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I agree with other comments that, while this a decent recipe it doesn't taste like tuna, so you might not want to have that expecation going in. Maybe because it hasn't been all that long since I've been a vegetarian that I can still easily remember the taste of tuna? I dunno, either way it's still good though and made for a nice sandwich. I followed the recipe almost exactly (except for the relish) and thoroughly mashed the beans with a fork which was easy enough for me (thought I might have to put in a food processor after reading other comments). This made for a fairly good lunch and I might make it again. I say might because I wasn't totally blown away by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I just throw everything in a food processor and pulse to the right consistency.....AWESOME! Tastes just like tuna salad! I even substitute red onion and yellow mustard and it is still perfect! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Love it! I used a vegan mayo recipe to make it 100% vegan and it turned out very good. This is my first time making anything like this. I usually eat mayo, have it in the fridge, and canned tuna, have it on the shelf, but after watching Forks Over Knives and learning what I'm learning, I'm trying to convert to a plant based diet. This is for SURE going to help me! Thank you so much! Here is the vegan mayo recipe I used; Ingredients: 1 cup grapeseed oil 1/2 cup soy milk (thick soy milk, or if using powder, use more powder to water than usual) 3/4 tsp salt (to taste) 1 - 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice (or apple cider vinegar) Pinch ground mustard (optional, you could probably also use a 1/4 tsp prepared mustard) Directions: Combine all ingredients except lemon juice (or vinegar) in the food processor or blender, blending until smooth. Slowly add the lemon juice or vinegar until the mixture thickens and tastes as desired. Add salt and mustard to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
So Delicious, thank you, great recipe for vegetarians or people who want to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Made the recipe as written but later went back and added more pickle relish and mayo. Nice flavor but recommend mashing the chickpeas thoroughly or they won't stay in the sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Awesome thanks so much for the recipe. I eyeballed all the condiments and probably used more than two tbsp mayo if I measured. This is good! My husband is allergic to tuna and he was nervous that I was serving tuna to him until I explained what is in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is great! Perfect “tuna” salad without fishy smell. I liked spicy food so I added spicy mayo, spicy relish and little bit of celery. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
It needed nori or Atlantic laver flakes (types of seaweed) to taste convincing. Sometimes I use a little lemon juice instead of the mustard. It's good either way. I wonder if it would work using drained and crumbled tofu instead of chickpeas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Delicious, nutricious, and economical. Try it with tomato slices. Add chopped boiled egg. Have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I completely tweaked this recipe and it was pretty descent. There is a similar recipe on the site, but it uses lots of celery and onion and I was looking for one that didn't. I used only 1 Tblsp. of lite mayo, left out the mustard and relish, and used some minced red onion in place of the green onion. I also mashed in one avacado after seeing a recipe on-line that combined the two to stretch the recipe. I ate it on oatmeal bread. It was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States