Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Just amazing. What a great vegetarian meal. You can also make it vegan by usin vegannaise. I think it is essential to puree the chickpeas, and I added celery and subbed yellow onion for green onions becase it is what I had on hand. Have been eating it all week and still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
just tried it and it is a really simple and tasty replacement for tuna salad. as a vegetarian i don't eat fish and this is great for a nutritious and quick meal.i used nori seaweed crumpled up for a "fishy" taste and it worked very well.i had it on toast and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandyp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was really really descent. It was very very good. At 1st I was worried about the spicy brown mustard. But fear no more. Then I got to the part about sweet pickles...I didn't have any nor did I have sweet pickle relish. Since I normally do not use either in cooking, baking or mixing. I opted for dill pickle relish. I did use low fat Mayonnaise verses regular mayo. All in all great mix. Excellent alternative for tuna...I like tuna, but tend to get fuller faster when eating it. This was light and not a heavy dish. And is was also a great alternative to egg salad I thought. I could diffently see adding a ranch powder mix to it and or mix in some heat to it as well and also adding celery. I will make this again because of the simiplicity of the recipe, ingredients and time. I always have these ingredients on hand and this is a great lunch bag item. Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
It may have been some 14 years since I've had tuna salad, but I'm pretty sure it doesn't taste like this. Although, while I was making it, I had two cats sitting on the kitchen floor looking at me like they thought I was making something for them. Did my cats think it was tuna...?? Anyway, It LOOKS like tuna salad, tastes pretty good and is a great idea for lunches. I added some Old Bay and diced onion. If I make it again I will decrease the mustard a bit and try it with tangy mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was great! It's been so long, so I couldn't tell if it tasted more like egg salad or tuna salad. Either way it was very good. The only changes we made were to add some celery (threw half a stalk in the food processor, then mixed in), salt and ground black pepper. Made a sandwich with toasted bread, adding red onion & tomato slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was good! I used vegan mayo (Vegenaise) to make it vegan. I was quite surprised how similar in taste this was to tuna. It is very easy and quick to make so this will be on rotation throughout the week when I'm in a hurry. Even my omnivore boyfriend liked it too. Lastly, don't for once think it's going to taste EXACTLY like tuna it's just a subtle version. So don't be surprised when you make this and it doesn't taste just like tuna! It's made from beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Loved it. Didn't have relish so I put in capers and a small amount of raw sugar and some red onion. I loved it...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is good stuff but it does NOT taste like tuna salad - not any tuna salad that I've ever had or made at any rate. That being said, I really do like this. I finely chop the chickpeas in my food processor and then just start adding stuff. I followed the directions the first time, but since then I usually add the stuff I use to make chicken salad - mayo, white pepper, celery seed, a squirt of lemon juice and sometimes walnuts and dried cranberries. Really really good stuff. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I can't believe how good this is! I only added relish and mayo since that's all I had, and it was very much like tuna. It will taste even better with the onion and lettuce on the sandwich. This is my new favorite healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States