Mock Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is a soft serve jam, since it does not use pectin. It tasted pretty good, except it was a little on the sweet side. Cool thing is, since it does not need pectin, you can scale down the sugar a bit if needed. I might do 3 to 4 c. of sugar rather than 5 next time. It's a good recipe, it's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amom2boys
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
We decided to try this.....and I have to say it was a success. My sister-in-law called me today and told me it was the best "strawberry" jam she has ever tasted.....I didn't tell her it was zucchini. I did peel, seed and puree the zucchini and added about 1/2 box of pectin - just to make sure it would set up. Thanks for the great recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amom2boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
It is unbelievable the tast this Jam has.. BETTER than store bought thats for sure... I have made this recipie 5 times, and it NEVER fails.. Super easy!! Awesome!!!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Yah! Another delicious way to use excess zucchini from my garden. I followed the advice of a former reviewer and added a 1/2 box of sure-jell and pureed the cooked mixture a bit before pouring it into the jars to seal. I also added 1 T. of butter when I added the Jell-O and lemon juice to reduce the amount of foam. Can't wait to try other flavors...deliciously sweet! Will definitely make this again for my family and for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I read through the reviews before I attempted this recipe. I appreciate those who went before me and provided their tips so I knew what to do before I made it. I cut this recipe in half BUT I cut the sugar back twice so for a half recipe, I only used about a cup of sugar. After I'd cooked the zucchini with the sugar and it'd boiled, I cooled it a bit and then stuck the mixture in my blender and really blended it down to a thin almost soupy consistancy. I then added it back to the saucepan, re-warmed it, then stirred in the lemon juice and gelatin. After all is said and done, I think this was a fun recipe to make with on hand ingredients to make a quick freezer jam, but for us, it really wasn't a home run. There's nothing wrong with the recipe, it just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is really good. I made this with only four cups of sugar and it is still very sweet. Next time, I'll make with three cups. I did not blend the zucchini/Jello mixture after boiling and there are obvious pieces of zucchini in the jam. Next time I will blend the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
My jam came out way too thick. It wouldn't spread at all. I think only 1 3-oz package of jello was needed. After it set, I boiled it down again, added 3/4 cup water, more lemon juice, 1 cup sugar and 4 more cups of shredded zucchini. I put this into jars and it was a better consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Surprisingly delicious and tasty. :-) What a nice surprise and twist to a new jam recipe. My only slight gripe is the color. Due to the strawberry gelatin... the jam turns out to be a candy apple bright colored red and not exactly the color strawberry jam is naturally. I might next time add a drop of red food coloring in an attempt to slightly deepen the color a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This worked great for me. The only change I made (based on other recipes I has read while searching for recipes) was to grind the zucchini instead of shredding/grating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I was doubtful but with so much zucchini in my fridge I had to try it. This turned out great, really really great I plan on making alot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri Edgett Stock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States