Mock Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Pretty darn good for something so simple. I am struggling through a lo carb diet and have yet to discover a lot of options for breakfast. This really fits the bill. Reminds me of a hot cereal. I left out the sweetener and added flax. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was very good, but I changed it up a bit. I didn't like the creamy puddin-like consistancy, so I added an egg and nuked for another minute then added a dash of nutmeg. It was more like custard, and totally delish! Thanks for idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I really like this idea, great for the mornings when you want something low carb but have no time for eggs... I agree adding the cinnamon gives it more of an oatmeal flavor. I sometimes also add a little bit of some cocoa to give it a little different flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
You can also eat this cold...is a Phase 1 South Beach Diet dessert. I always add either vanilla extract or even coconut or almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this this morning, on a whim, just had some ricotta to use up...I used a packet of Truvia and cinnamon and it was actually really good. Tasted nothing like oatmeal, but more like a good hot cereal...similar in texture to cream of wheat....still I will make again! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I tried this recipe because I had some leftover ricotta cheese, and because I was plain curious. I have to say, it does not taste like oatmeal, even after lots and lots of cinnamon. I'm giving it four stars anyway because it doesn't taste bad and I think it is worth trying. It is slightly chewy, and if you use nonfat ricotta cheese this can be pretty healthy. You get protein and quite a bit of calcium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I tried this after making a lasagna and not wanting to waste the small amount of remaining ricotta. I really enjoyed it and will make it again. The flavor is delicious and it's a great way to start the day with a healthy amount of protein and fat. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Not awful by any means. But my family Decided to feed this mock oatmeal to the family dog. Perhaps it was the fake taste of the splenda. Maybe I should have used Agave nectar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razz Melinda Abrego

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Really tasty, not sure if I'd compare it to oatmeal. Added cinnamon as suggested by another reviewer. I'm sure most sweeteners would work, I prefer erythritol ad it worked great. Next time, I'll add blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Wow, this is delicious...thanks! I added a touch of cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnackyCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States