Mock Mincemeat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBLASSNIG
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was amazing! My English husband said it was even better than his Mum's! I substituted lemon zest for the orange zest and added some walnuts for a bit more texture and 2 tablespoons of dark rum - I didn't have brandy. Kudos! It was D-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I am surprised to see that so few people have reviewed or tried this recipe. I love mincemeat pie and this recipe is far superior to anything you could buy in a store or by using jarred mincemeat. I made exactly as written and it came out perfect. The smell of the apples and cinnamon and cloves cooking is out of this world. The orange juice and apple cider add a lot to the pie. Made it at Christmas and again in Feb. Wonderful recipe- 5 stars Peggy Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Truly an awesome pie.It is moist and the apples are in equal dominance with the raisens in flavor with a hint of orange and good old fashioned spices!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Loved it! I did need to add a about 1/2 cup more apple cider during the stovetop time or it would've dried out. I didn't have any rum left it out completely. Cooked it as a two crust pie. I have one son who is a big mincemeat (minus the meat) pie fan and so I always make one for him at holiday gatherings. He inhaled it and took the rest home with him! Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I'd never had mincemeat before. Made it as directed, with apples we had just picked. Had a lot of liquid, so along with the saltines, I stirred in some cornstarch I had dissolved in OJ. That kept the cut pieces from being too runny when we served it at room temperature. I had made a lattice-top. The taste was not orangey as I thought it would be considering the juice and zest, and I even added a tbs of grand mariner to the stovetop mixture. The taste of cloves was a bit overpowering for me, but my husband really enjoyed it. Would make it again with less cloves, and maybe add nutmeg and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this for my grandfather and HE loved it..Almost ate the entire thing himself!! I have never been a big fan on Mincemeat pie.. but this one is awesome. the only alteration i made was I put a 1/2 shot of rum in the mixture just to zig things up.. came out great!! will definately make this again..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cazenovia, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This recipe is perfect as written -- an exact replica of the mincemeat pie my mom used to make. I didn't think anyone else in the family would like it, but it was the first pie to go at our last get-together. LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was just OK, IMO. It didn't quite have the taste I was after. I'll keep looking for a good mincemeat pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My mom always served store-bought mock mincemeat pie during the holidays and I always wanted to make my own. Loved the recipe and had great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I have never baked a pie from scratch before (myself, that is!) a good friend of mine has a birthday within a day of Thanksgiving, and her favorite pie is Mock Mincemeat; so as a gift, I thought I'd take a stab at it. I never got so many compliments on my baking! EVERYONE loved it! I don't like pie, so I can't personally say I loved it, but I did love the compliments!! I will save this recipe and use it for many years to come! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjlyn
Home Town: Westmore, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States