Mock Mincemeat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Looking for a 'from scratch' recipe and this was just perfect. I added 1/2 chopped nuts, vanilla, a few extra crushed saltines, and a splash of Captain Morgan. Absolutely amazing. So happy I found this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Delicious although I may use one fewer apple next time and a few more raisins. I added 1/2 c walnuts and used dark spiced rum instead of brandy. I made mine into tarts instead of one pie and had some left over. I'm tempted to eat it out of the pot with a big spoon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I have never baked a pie from scratch before (myself, that is!) a good friend of mine has a birthday within a day of Thanksgiving, and her favorite pie is Mock Mincemeat; so as a gift, I thought I'd take a stab at it. I never got so many compliments on my baking! EVERYONE loved it! I don't like pie, so I can't personally say I loved it, but I did love the compliments!! I will save this recipe and use it for many years to come! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjlyn
Home Town: Westmore, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This recipe is perfect as written -- an exact replica of the mincemeat pie my mom used to make. I didn't think anyone else in the family would like it, but it was the first pie to go at our last get-together. LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Dad loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
First attempt making a mince pie for several mince lovers for Thanksgiving. Got two thumbs up! I'll take their word for it, since I don't have any room to try it after eating all my favorite pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was just OK, IMO. It didn't quite have the taste I was after. I'll keep looking for a good mincemeat pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My mom always served store-bought mock mincemeat pie during the holidays and I always wanted to make my own. Loved the recipe and had great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this for my grandfather and HE loved it..Almost ate the entire thing himself!! I have never been a big fan on Mincemeat pie.. but this one is awesome. the only alteration i made was I put a 1/2 shot of rum in the mixture just to zig things up.. came out great!! will definately make this again..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cazenovia, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I'd never had mincemeat before. Made it as directed, with apples we had just picked. Had a lot of liquid, so along with the saltines, I stirred in some cornstarch I had dissolved in OJ. That kept the cut pieces from being too runny when we served it at room temperature. I had made a lattice-top. The taste was not orangey as I thought it would be considering the juice and zest, and I even added a tbs of grand mariner to the stovetop mixture. The taste of cloves was a bit overpowering for me, but my husband really enjoyed it. Would make it again with less cloves, and maybe add nutmeg and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States