Mock Mincemeat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Looking for a 'from scratch' recipe and this was just perfect. I added 1/2 chopped nuts, vanilla, a few extra crushed saltines, and a splash of Captain Morgan. Absolutely amazing. So happy I found this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Delicious although I may use one fewer apple next time and a few more raisins. I added 1/2 c walnuts and used dark spiced rum instead of brandy. I made mine into tarts instead of one pie and had some left over. I'm tempted to eat it out of the pot with a big spoon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I have never baked a pie from scratch before (myself, that is!) a good friend of mine has a birthday within a day of Thanksgiving, and her favorite pie is Mock Mincemeat; so as a gift, I thought I'd take a stab at it. I never got so many compliments on my baking! EVERYONE loved it! I don't like pie, so I can't personally say I loved it, but I did love the compliments!! I will save this recipe and use it for many years to come! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjlyn
Home Town: Westmore, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This recipe is perfect as written -- an exact replica of the mincemeat pie my mom used to make. I didn't think anyone else in the family would like it, but it was the first pie to go at our last get-together. LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Dad loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
First attempt making a mince pie for several mince lovers for Thanksgiving. Got two thumbs up! I'll take their word for it, since I don't have any room to try it after eating all my favorite pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was just OK, IMO. It didn't quite have the taste I was after. I'll keep looking for a good mincemeat pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My mom always served store-bought mock mincemeat pie during the holidays and I always wanted to make my own. Loved the recipe and had great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this for my grandfather and HE loved it..Almost ate the entire thing himself!! I have never been a big fan on Mincemeat pie.. but this one is awesome. the only alteration i made was I put a 1/2 shot of rum in the mixture just to zig things up.. came out great!! will definately make this again..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cazenovia, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I'd never had mincemeat before. Made it as directed, with apples we had just picked. Had a lot of liquid, so along with the saltines, I stirred in some cornstarch I had dissolved in OJ. That kept the cut pieces from being too runny when we served it at room temperature. I had made a lattice-top. The taste was not orangey as I thought it would be considering the juice and zest, and I even added a tbs of grand mariner to the stovetop mixture. The taste of cloves was a bit overpowering for me, but my husband really enjoyed it. Would make it again with less cloves, and maybe add nutmeg and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States