Mock Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe did taste like lobster! So much so that my BF was a little weirded out that he was eating chicken but it was so much more like lobster. I know this sounds like just a teriyaki marinade but it's not, something in it changes the texture! Dipping it in butter helped too :). Although I really enjoyed it, my BF does not want me to make it again- he thought it was too weird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I didn't expect it to taste "just like" lobster, so I wasn't disappointed when it didn't. It was so delicious -- I made it exactly according to the recipe (reduced sodium soy sauce) and it was some of the best chicken I've ever made, tender and juicy with great flavor. Some reviewers said they baked this, but I thought the grilling process added great flavor. The only thing I'd do differently next time (and there will be a next time) is to double the amount of sugar (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I don't know about it tasting like lobster but this is the best chicken marinade I've used. I went ahead and marinaded the breasts overnight and when my husband grilled them they were still so juicy I had to check to make sure they were fully cooked (they were). They just melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Simply delicious! If you serve this to your kids, and tell them it's lobster... they'll never know the difference. To a refined palate, however, you just have to use your imagination ;-) Either way, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful_Mamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was a hit with the family. The kids loved dipping it in the butter. I did think it taste like lobster, my husband thinks its just "wishful thinking". I was afraid the marinade would be too salty, but it was fine. I think next time I will try it with fresh garlic and ginger. Thanks for a new one to add into the rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrasher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Recipe was very moist and my DH loved the flavor; but we are both from the East coast and enjoy lobster and this does not resemble lobster. I think some may have confused dipping the chicken in the butter for lobster--either way, the recipe was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
A recipe that I will definitley make again. Family loved the moistness of the chicken and I loved the subtle sweetness from the pineapple juice. You know it's chicken, but it does remind you a *little* of lobster. I served with plain brown rice and veggie stir-fry medley w/ a brown sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I'm so dissappointed-I really wanted this to taste like lobster! I'm giving it 4 stars for a great tasting, marinaded, grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Very good! I wouldn't change a thing. Did taste a lot like lobster! So cool! I used breasts and breast tenderloins and the tenderloins came out moister and like more of a lobster consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is really yummy! I thought it tasted like lobster. I dipped it in butter. Whether my experience was psychological or not, this chicken is moist and flavorful. I omitted garlic salt totally and added some garlic powder, but maybe fresh minced garlic would be even better. We're saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Lobster Newberg

See how to make a shockingly simple, rich lobster dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States