Mock Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I've been using this marinade all winter. I actually thought I'd already rated it. Depending on how much chicken I am preparing, depends on how much oil I add to the marinade. Overall, I'm sure I use less. I used garlic powder and added no more salt to the recipe than is in the soy sauce. This is an EXCELLENT recipe. I've broiled it and am looking forward to grilling it this summer. When I take BLSL breasts out of the freezer, I add the marinade to the frozen breasts and let it thaw in the marinade. Very tasty! The melted butter dip contributes to the "illusion" of lobster, and is very good. But not necessary to enjoy this dish. Bon apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I grew up in Maine and ate a lot of lobster! This was so similar to lobster. I couldn't believe it. It was absolutely fantastic, so tender. I will never cook chicken any other way. This is now a weekly must for us! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turner, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe did taste like lobster! So much so that my BF was a little weirded out that he was eating chicken but it was so much more like lobster. I know this sounds like just a teriyaki marinade but it's not, something in it changes the texture! Dipping it in butter helped too :). Although I really enjoyed it, my BF does not want me to make it again- he thought it was too weird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I didn't expect it to taste "just like" lobster, so I wasn't disappointed when it didn't. It was so delicious -- I made it exactly according to the recipe (reduced sodium soy sauce) and it was some of the best chicken I've ever made, tender and juicy with great flavor. Some reviewers said they baked this, but I thought the grilling process added great flavor. The only thing I'd do differently next time (and there will be a next time) is to double the amount of sugar (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I don't know about it tasting like lobster but this is the best chicken marinade I've used. I went ahead and marinaded the breasts overnight and when my husband grilled them they were still so juicy I had to check to make sure they were fully cooked (they were). They just melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Simply delicious! If you serve this to your kids, and tell them it's lobster... they'll never know the difference. To a refined palate, however, you just have to use your imagination ;-) Either way, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful_Mamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was a hit with the family. The kids loved dipping it in the butter. I did think it taste like lobster, my husband thinks its just "wishful thinking". I was afraid the marinade would be too salty, but it was fine. I think next time I will try it with fresh garlic and ginger. Thanks for a new one to add into the rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrasher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Recipe was very moist and my DH loved the flavor; but we are both from the East coast and enjoy lobster and this does not resemble lobster. I think some may have confused dipping the chicken in the butter for lobster--either way, the recipe was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
A recipe that I will definitley make again. Family loved the moistness of the chicken and I loved the subtle sweetness from the pineapple juice. You know it's chicken, but it does remind you a *little* of lobster. I served with plain brown rice and veggie stir-fry medley w/ a brown sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I'm so dissappointed-I really wanted this to taste like lobster! I'm giving it 4 stars for a great tasting, marinaded, grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States