Mock Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made the recipe exactly as described and the chicken was a hit with the hubby. I thought it was a nice, subtle change to the routine chicken dish whether it tasted like lobster or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This doesn't taste much like lobster, but the marinade was definitely good!! We all thought that it was way too salty though, so I won't add as much garlic salt the next time that I make this. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I wasn't expecting this to actually taste like lobster (Maine girl here), but I made it anyway based on the reviews here. The only flavor that carried through was salt. I used low sodium soy sauce and garlic powder rather than garlic salt but it was still gag-worthily salty. My husband and I didn't even bother to melt the butter before we tossed the inedible chicken in the trash. The only reason I gave it two stars rather than one is that the chicken was very moist and tender. The only reason
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
It was ok, nothing special. The marinade was good, but not great. I wasn't expecting it to really taste like lobster, so there was no surprise there when it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is hard for me to rate. If I were rating it for actually tasting like lobster it would get one star. If I were rating it on deliciousness, I would give it a five. I'm torn! This was some darn good chicken. Did it taste like lobster? Not so much. BUT it made some very juicy, tasty, yummy chicken. I will use this marinade often...but I won't tell anyone that it is supposed to taste like lobster. ;-) What the heck. I give it 5 stars cuz it's just that tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This did have the consistancy of Lobster somewhat. I'm not sure about it tasting like lobster but it doesn't matter. It was some of the best chicken we EVER had. It was so moist and flavorful. Cant remember having had chicken breast this moist. This recipe will be used many, many more times. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I've been using this marinade all winter. I actually thought I'd already rated it. Depending on how much chicken I am preparing, depends on how much oil I add to the marinade. Overall, I'm sure I use less. I used garlic powder and added no more salt to the recipe than is in the soy sauce. This is an EXCELLENT recipe. I've broiled it and am looking forward to grilling it this summer. When I take BLSL breasts out of the freezer, I add the marinade to the frozen breasts and let it thaw in the marinade. Very tasty! The melted butter dip contributes to the "illusion" of lobster, and is very good. But not necessary to enjoy this dish. Bon apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I grew up in Maine and ate a lot of lobster! This was so similar to lobster. I couldn't believe it. It was absolutely fantastic, so tender. I will never cook chicken any other way. This is now a weekly must for us! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turner, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe did taste like lobster! So much so that my BF was a little weirded out that he was eating chicken but it was so much more like lobster. I know this sounds like just a teriyaki marinade but it's not, something in it changes the texture! Dipping it in butter helped too :). Although I really enjoyed it, my BF does not want me to make it again- he thought it was too weird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I didn't expect it to taste "just like" lobster, so I wasn't disappointed when it didn't. It was so delicious -- I made it exactly according to the recipe (reduced sodium soy sauce) and it was some of the best chicken I've ever made, tender and juicy with great flavor. Some reviewers said they baked this, but I thought the grilling process added great flavor. The only thing I'd do differently next time (and there will be a next time) is to double the amount of sugar (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States