Mock Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very good. After grilling I topped them with a pat garlic basil butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Followed this recipe to the T except used boneless thighs instead of breast. I also marinated it overnight. We really liked this. I thought it was going to have an asian taste to it, but it really doesn't. We couldn't really pinpoint the great flavor but both decided we would love to have it again. Served with rice and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made recipe exactly as called for. It tasted to me like a version of teriyaki chicken. No lobster texture and I did not expect it to taste similar to lobster as I read reviews before trying this recipe. The chicken was moist and tender and did have a decent flavor. As another reviewer said it just depends on the person's taste I guess. I would encourage someone else to try this though as they may love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.riddle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My family literally requests this recipe weekly; it's that good. Here's a sauce they prefer to the dipping butter (although, it's more caloric): add 1/2 stick butter to 2 T. mayo and 5 T. cream cheese. Add 1 t. cayenne pepper, 2 T. chilli powder, and 2 T. grated parmesean cheese. Microwave until softened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Was very tasty, but did not taste remotely like lobster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Although we didn't think it tasted like lobster, the marinade was awesome! We will definitely make this again! Thanks Joyful_Mamma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was really tasty and yes it does have a lobster-ish taste to it. If I hadn't been looking for that flavor, would I have made the connection? I am not sure.. but it does have a bit of lobster texture and flavor to it.. not as rich but for those of us who cant afford the real thing, this is good. I tried it plain, dipped in melted butter flavored spread as well. Both good. I will try it with lemon juice tomorrow when I have leftovers.. Thanks for the really neat idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Whether it tastes like lobster or not doesn't matter, this is great chicken! The only time I thought it might taste like lobster is when it was dipped in butter. We loved it dipped in butter, but it was really good on it's own too. A very tasty marinade! The only changes I made were using low-sodium soy sauce and using 1/2 tsp. garlic granules instead of 1 tsp. garlic salt, to cut down on the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was ok- no one but me in my family liked it. I followed the recipe exactly. This must just not be for everyone. The good news is that the night wasn't a total wash; I made a little toy out of pipe cleaners that my cat is really going crazy for right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I am rating this based on the taste and texture of the chicken, not on it tasting like lobster. I didn't think it tasted similar, however I also didn't dip it in butter b/c I was just wanting a good grilled chicken. This is an awesome marinade and we loved it! The BF thought it was great! He commented more than once on how tender and juicy the chicken was! Full of flavor after marinating just 2 1/2 hours. This will absolutely be added into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States