Mock Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great recipe that we all had a grand time chowing down on, however, to even think this tasted anything like lobster is another story. Well, I suppose if you dip anything in butter it would taste like lobster or even crab for that matter, but this certainly did not because I chose to save the marinade which I simmered and thickened with cornstarch to serve as a sauce. If you're really looking for mock lobster I suggest Monk fish which is known as "poor man's lobster." Joyful Mamma, thank you so much for this oh so yum recipe that I'll certainly make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Wow! These were really good. The marinade was wonderful. I marinated them about 2.5 hours and it was perfect. I also clarified some butter and dipped pieces in the butter and it was great. It was really good without the clarified butter also! My husband loved them and he usually doesn't like marinated chicken. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very good marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made the recipe exactly as described and the chicken was a hit with the hubby. I thought it was a nice, subtle change to the routine chicken dish whether it tasted like lobster or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This doesn't taste much like lobster, but the marinade was definitely good!! We all thought that it was way too salty though, so I won't add as much garlic salt the next time that I make this. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I wasn't expecting this to actually taste like lobster (Maine girl here), but I made it anyway based on the reviews here. The only flavor that carried through was salt. I used low sodium soy sauce and garlic powder rather than garlic salt but it was still gag-worthily salty. My husband and I didn't even bother to melt the butter before we tossed the inedible chicken in the trash. The only reason I gave it two stars rather than one is that the chicken was very moist and tender. The only reason
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
It was ok, nothing special. The marinade was good, but not great. I wasn't expecting it to really taste like lobster, so there was no surprise there when it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is hard for me to rate. If I were rating it for actually tasting like lobster it would get one star. If I were rating it on deliciousness, I would give it a five. I'm torn! This was some darn good chicken. Did it taste like lobster? Not so much. BUT it made some very juicy, tasty, yummy chicken. I will use this marinade often...but I won't tell anyone that it is supposed to taste like lobster. ;-) What the heck. I give it 5 stars cuz it's just that tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This did have the consistancy of Lobster somewhat. I'm not sure about it tasting like lobster but it doesn't matter. It was some of the best chicken we EVER had. It was so moist and flavorful. Cant remember having had chicken breast this moist. This recipe will be used many, many more times. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States