Mock Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My family literally requests this recipe weekly; it's that good. Here's a sauce they prefer to the dipping butter (although, it's more caloric): add 1/2 stick butter to 2 T. mayo and 5 T. cream cheese. Add 1 t. cayenne pepper, 2 T. chilli powder, and 2 T. grated parmesean cheese. Microwave until softened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Was very tasty, but did not taste remotely like lobster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Although we didn't think it tasted like lobster, the marinade was awesome! We will definitely make this again! Thanks Joyful_Mamma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was really tasty and yes it does have a lobster-ish taste to it. If I hadn't been looking for that flavor, would I have made the connection? I am not sure.. but it does have a bit of lobster texture and flavor to it.. not as rich but for those of us who cant afford the real thing, this is good. I tried it plain, dipped in melted butter flavored spread as well. Both good. I will try it with lemon juice tomorrow when I have leftovers.. Thanks for the really neat idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Whether it tastes like lobster or not doesn't matter, this is great chicken! The only time I thought it might taste like lobster is when it was dipped in butter. We loved it dipped in butter, but it was really good on it's own too. A very tasty marinade! The only changes I made were using low-sodium soy sauce and using 1/2 tsp. garlic granules instead of 1 tsp. garlic salt, to cut down on the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was ok- no one but me in my family liked it. I followed the recipe exactly. This must just not be for everyone. The good news is that the night wasn't a total wash; I made a little toy out of pipe cleaners that my cat is really going crazy for right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I am rating this based on the taste and texture of the chicken, not on it tasting like lobster. I didn't think it tasted similar, however I also didn't dip it in butter b/c I was just wanting a good grilled chicken. This is an awesome marinade and we loved it! The BF thought it was great! He commented more than once on how tender and juicy the chicken was! Full of flavor after marinating just 2 1/2 hours. This will absolutely be added into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great recipe that we all had a grand time chowing down on, however, to even think this tasted anything like lobster is another story. Well, I suppose if you dip anything in butter it would taste like lobster or even crab for that matter, but this certainly did not because I chose to save the marinade which I simmered and thickened with cornstarch to serve as a sauce. If you're really looking for mock lobster I suggest Monk fish which is known as "poor man's lobster." Joyful Mamma, thank you so much for this oh so yum recipe that I'll certainly make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Wow! These were really good. The marinade was wonderful. I marinated them about 2.5 hours and it was perfect. I also clarified some butter and dipped pieces in the butter and it was great. It was really good without the clarified butter also! My husband loved them and he usually doesn't like marinated chicken. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States