Mock Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
The first time I made this cake was for a baby shower. It turned out great and I received many compliments. I actually mixed the lemon pudding mix with the cake mix and used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting recipe from this site to frost it (not a big fan of whipped topping). I'm usually a chocolate cake person, but this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This was absolutely wonderful. I spent a long while combing recipes to find a dessert for the one son who doesn't like chocolate and finally picked this one bc it seemed simple enough. And I'm certainly glad I did! He chose to rate it a ten. Even knowing the scale was out of five! :) The only thing I changed was I didn't use the extra 8 oz of cool whip for the sides. I just used the lemon mixture as the filling and for the tops and sides. And I think that was plenty. Will definitely be making this again and again. And the strawberries do add so much to the presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This cake was delicious - very light and fresh and perfect for celebrating spring. I made 3 different cakes for my dad's birthday, and this one was everyone's favorite. It's great served chilled right out of the refrigerator. Be sure your strawberries aren't too wet; the ones I used on the top weeped and made red streaks in the icing. It still tasted great though! I would definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This cake is easy & a real winner at family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
What a heavenly recipe. I made this with low-fat mayo in place of the oil for the cake mix and used egg whites in order to lower the fat content. I also used skim milk and fat-free whipped topping and decided not to "frost" the sides. It was absolutely delicious. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Wonderful recipe! I like tall cakes, so I made a 3 layer cake (2 white layers & 1 lemon layer in the middle.) Adding whole strawberry on top was a nice touch. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This cake was a big hit at my dad's bday party. Even my husband (who only wants dessert if it's chocolate) admitted it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
Absolutely so pretty & delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Delicious. I only needed 8 oz of cool whip rather than 16oz. So good, I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
Great summer cake. My son loved it as his birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States