Mock Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Not a bad cake, but my family wasn't 'overwhelmed' by it. I didn't have quite enough frosting so if I make this cake again I'll definitely double the frosting. I really liked the 'pudding in the mix' part. It made for a very moist cake. I think I'll try that with all of my cakes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This tasted really similar to lemon cake mix except lighter on the lemon. I enjoyed the strawberry/lemon combo and followed others' suggestions of using all lemon pudding. Lemon zest in the frosting would be a nice touch for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
After reading other people's reviews, I decided to use lemon pudding instead of vanilla pudding. I also added about 1/2 tbsp of freshly squeezed lime juice (I actually wanted to add some lemon juice, but, I didn't have one at that time.) I think adding some lime (lemon) juice was helpful to increase some citrus flavor. The cake was moist and tasty. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASmith
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
this cake is simply amazing. I made it for a memorial day bbq. I originally thought it may have been too much since there were only 6 people there but everyone had seconds and there was only one piece left for me to take home. I am debating on making it again today....just because! its so tasty...i loved it!! also many reviewers complained about the frosting not being firm enough. i refridgerated the pudding and them when i mixed in the whipped cream topping and put it in the freezer to thicken it up some. turned out perfect!!! review edit: I made this cake again with jello brand pudding...BIG mistake. the "frosting" was so runny and i couldnt get it firm. i made another one the same day with generic lemon pudding...it turned out amazing!!! so i HIGHLY recommend using the generic pudding...its cheaper, it taste better, and it looks better....not to mention its easier to work with!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Very tasty! I made this for a friend's birthday, who doesn't like anything too sweet. She loved it. The only things I did different was to use less milk with the lemon pudding (to make the filling more firm) and I added some lemon zest to the sides, after frosting. That gave it a little extra zing and made it look really pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gilly
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Made this cake for mothers day this year and the family loved it, I didn't find it overly lemony but it was good. I did a few things different, one was instead of using whipped topping which I am not a fan of I used whipping cream and it turned out great. The other was I used a lemon cake using mayo in it instead of the white cake, and I only iced the top not the sides
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My very awesome roommate actually made this cake (twice!), so the technical comments are based on her experiences. But I can definitely say that this cake tastes wonderful. It's very moist, but light, and not too sweet. The first time my roommate made it though, it looked really gloopy -- the icing was sliding off, and the juice from the strawberries made smears on the cake. Here's what she did the second time: she used less milk in the pudding mix (for the icing) to make it firmer. She handled the pudding/Cool Whip mixture as little as possible -- just enough to fold it all in, but no more. Finally, she drained the strawberries AFTER slicing them (leaving them in a papertowel-lined bowl in the fridge overnight), and blotted the slices w/ a paper towel before putting them on the ice cake. With these modifications, the cake held up much better, and looked as fantastic as it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This is a very moist cake. I substituted strawberry cake mix for the white and a white chocolate pudding mix for the lemon. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This was a good and easy cake. It tastes wonderful chilled on a hot day. I only used half of the whipped topping and it was a very generous amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States