Mock Lemon Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as it was given, but made sure to let the cake cool completely and dried the strawberries out. The cake was delicious, easy, and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I made this for a co-worker's birthday and it was gone in minutes! I used a lemon cake mix and used half of the vanilla pudding mix. I also made fresh whipped cream and added lemon pudding mix (generic brand) and used 1/2 of this mix to put it in between cakes. For the outer frosting, I made fresh whipped cream and added a table spoon of lemon juice and 1/2 cream cheese so it will hold. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I brought this cake to a party at work and everyone loved it! I made it as a sheet cake so it would be easier to cut and share with a large group. I also did add about a table spoon of sour cream into the cake batter to make it even moister. Great recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Strasser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I made this cake for a work bake-off competition and won first place for best cake presentation. However, I missed the best taste prize because the taste wasn't as raving as I expected. Firstly, don't tweak the recipe like I did. I followed some reviewer's suggestions and added lemon pudding to the white cake mix instead of the vanilla pudding. So I had 2 layers of white/lemon cake. I shouldn't have listened to that suggestion. I think the cake would have won first place in tasting if I did not do that one little tweak. The cake turned out to be much more lemony than I wanted. That, coupled with the lemon frosting - I did not like. Ended up that the lemon overwhelmed the cake instead of being a light, refreshing cake. Instead, stick to the vanilla pudding added to the white cake. You could really do without the lemon pudding filling and substitute with a cream cheese whipped frosting with strawberries instead. That's what I used to frost the outsides and I decorated the cake top and base with sliced strawberries. I don't think I would make it again because I wasn't so thrilled with the lemon filling, but I'll give it 3 stars because it wasn't entirely bad and the mistake was mine for not following the original instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Star19600
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
VERY good and easy recipe. Was the perfect finish to a grilling-out meal of cheeseburgers and corn on the cob. I made it according to the recipe, but next time I will incorporate all of the whipped topping into the pudding mixture. It tasted delicious, but looked a little funny with the lemon colored filling on top of the cake, and the plain white whipped topping on the sides...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This cake was the talk of the weekend graduation party...delicious, moist and light. I added a layer of homemade cream cheese frosting and strawberries to the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was amazing! It slid around a bit getting it to the party, but a few minutes in the freezer firmed the 'icing' back up. Was asked several times for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Delicious! I used lemon pudding mix for both the cake and the filling and definitely only needed the 8 ounces of cool whip for the filling, top, and sides. It was a hit at our BBQ and no one knew it was so easy to make! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This recipe was just the thing for a show-stopping birthday cake that had both looks and flavor without being decadently chocolate. I followed the recipe hints of using lemon cake mix with vanilla pudding, and needed only 8 oz. of whipped topping as well, stirring in the milk only until reaching the desired consistency. The perfect cake for a summer party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I made this for a comany Easter Party. It looked great,and tasted better than I had hoped. Everyone loved it. I used a French Vanilla cake mix, light mayo, and Fat Free Cool Whip, and it just turned out great. It wasn't to gooey like I had read in the other reviews. Oh I also added a teaspoon of lemon extract to the cake batter for a hint of lemon. I do recommend drying strawberries before use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States