Mock Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I tried these last night for the first time. Before I cook a recipe I read all the reviews to get ideas of how I may want to amend it. I dropped the bread crumbs (Italian) to 1.2 C per pound, added in a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce, dribbled in a touch of Tobasco Chipotle (it gets hot quickly!), a few passes of Adobo seasoning, and about 2 cloves of fresh garlic per pound. I also added a few squeezes of Deli Mustard. The twist I did was I added ALL the ingredients to the beef- including the sauce ingredients. Wrapped with bacon, and grilled. They were excellent!! Yes, I admit that adding the sauce ingredients was a bit of an accident as I had a child or two continually vying for attention. :) I made up 5 lbs of this using my Kitchen Aid and now I have 4 more meals in the freezer ready to be cooked. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I made these on my grill and they worked out great. The sauce is what really makes these outstanding, not the bacon. I also added a 1/2 tsp of minced garlic to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My husband took his first bite of his "filet" tonight, and immediately said, "This is a five star recipe -- I can tell after the first bite." So I'm dutifully listing it at five stars. :) It is quite good and really simple to make -- it's got a bit of a "meatloaf" quality to it (in a good way), but it looks more elegant. I used pre-cooked bacon to wrap the patties, as we prefer crispy bacon. Other than the bacon, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Maybe this should be called "Happy Hubby Filets"! My husband really loved this one and asked me to put it in my regular rotation. This was easy to make, very tasty and freezes well for future lunches. Thanks for the recipe Vickie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I saw this recipe a while back and thought it looked interesting, then last night my wife suggested to make this for dinner and we loved it. They have such a nice flavor and make a very good meal. We had some left over, so I took one in to work the next day and reheated it, and everybody kept commenting on how good it smelled and looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I was skeptical, but I have made this three times this month! No deviations! I made it just like the recipe!!! Great!! My fiance is a meat and potatoes man......he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This was a very good recipe. Easy and tasty. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This dish has a slight sweet flavor to it which makes it nice. I did tweak the recipe a bit to my liking. I felt the amount of bread crumbs requested would dry out the beef, particularly lean ground beef. I cut it down to about 1/2 of what was asked and added a 1/2 teaspoon of worcestershire sauce. I'd say they're more of a mock mini-meatloaf than a mock filet. Though they are full flavor, they didn't quite hit a 5-star mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Very good. Mine was a little bland, next time I'll spice it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Too dry. Won't make again-too many other good recipes available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States