Mock Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Very good. Mine was a little bland, next time I'll spice it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I saw this recipe a while back and thought it looked interesting, then last night my wife suggested to make this for dinner and we loved it. They have such a nice flavor and make a very good meal. We had some left over, so I took one in to work the next day and reheated it, and everybody kept commenting on how good it smelled and looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My husband took his first bite of his "filet" tonight, and immediately said, "This is a five star recipe -- I can tell after the first bite." So I'm dutifully listing it at five stars. :) It is quite good and really simple to make -- it's got a bit of a "meatloaf" quality to it (in a good way), but it looks more elegant. I used pre-cooked bacon to wrap the patties, as we prefer crispy bacon. Other than the bacon, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Maybe this should be called "Happy Hubby Filets"! My husband really loved this one and asked me to put it in my regular rotation. This was easy to make, very tasty and freezes well for future lunches. Thanks for the recipe Vickie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I made these on my grill and they worked out great. The sauce is what really makes these outstanding, not the bacon. I also added a 1/2 tsp of minced garlic to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Too dry. Won't make again-too many other good recipes available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This dish has a slight sweet flavor to it which makes it nice. I did tweak the recipe a bit to my liking. I felt the amount of bread crumbs requested would dry out the beef, particularly lean ground beef. I cut it down to about 1/2 of what was asked and added a 1/2 teaspoon of worcestershire sauce. I'd say they're more of a mock mini-meatloaf than a mock filet. Though they are full flavor, they didn't quite hit a 5-star mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This was a very good recipe. Easy and tasty. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
These were great and were very easy to make. I added about 2-3 cloves of garlic to give this a little more flavor. Also, I would highly recommend using a broiler pan (don't forget to line with foil!) to drain off some of the bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
essentially, this recipe makes a glorified version of meatloaf...which is good if you are a fan of that sort of thing. the flavor was good (i added some worchestershire, a clove of garlic and some honey), but i think spicing up the sauce and seasoning the meat MUCH more may counteract that "meat-loafy" feeling, too. also, i think i inadvertantly kept it from drying out by broiling on low for 8 min. and then 4 with the sauce, respectively. all in all, i think i'd try this again (with more spices, of course), but probably not for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States