Mock Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My boyfriend and I love this recipe! The only thing we do differently is add liquid smoke and Worcestershire sauce to the meat. This gives the filets a great smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My whole family loves these - we make them instead of hamburgers or meatloaf. To those who think the name is misleading, the ingredient list will tell you it's basically meatloaf. The size and bacon wrapping give it the name. One note, though, use good quality ground beef. It definitely makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
First of all, My husband really liked this. He said that you could not tell the difference between these mock fillets and and the real thing just by looking at them. Very nice presentation, very cute. Second, they tasted good. The bacon really set it off and gave it a nice smokey flavor. But, they are just personal portioned meatloaves. Don't get me wrong, they were great! It was easy cleanup and we didn't have a whole pan of meatloaf into a Tupperware container. Plus, we didn't have to portion them out of leftovers the next day! Thirdly, nothing complicated. We had all the ingredients off hand. I didn't have to go to the store and buy something special for this recipe. BUT while broiling, I would monitor their done-ness half way through the process. I believe that if I hadn't been watching them, they would have burned. This recipe was good and I will definitely make it again. But I am giving it four stars because it really is just like meatloaf. I will replace meatloaf night with "Mock Fillet" night because it is just easier to make than my usual meatloaf routine and it makes meatloaf night fun! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
DH loved this recipe. The rest of us, so so -- I do make a good meatloaf recipe, however this was a nice change with not too much work. The bacon is a nice touch for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c4christ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
My hubby is a pain to please but he loved this recipe. I followed recipe exactly except I added more seasoning to fit our taste(adobo instead of salt and pepper). Other than that I followed it and it was great and super fast. Anyone looking for a nice change to ground beef this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaByBaMz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I would agree that this is more like a small meatloaf, but it was really easy to make and tasted GREAT! When I went to grab something to drink, my boyfriend ate the rest of my second helping- and you can bet I was not very happy with him! I added some crispy onions in with mine and used spicy brown mustard instead of dried. I would also suggest just mixing in the topping, that way it soaks all the way through. Also, I did not need to cook it nearly as long as it calls for- more like 7 min a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilliebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
My picky husband liked it, so that says a lot! Will definitely make again, but I'll probably try using tomato sauce or BBQ sauce in the topping. I love ketchup, but it was a bit much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trissann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Munford, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Meh, it really did taste just like meatloaf. I was skeptical as others..because the recipe is very similar to my own meatloaf recipe- only to be justified. I never would have thought to broil a meatloaf though, so it sped up the process and I may do that again. I might not have been as dissapointed if these had been called mini- bacon wrapped meatloafs...but they are called something misleading. I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
came out beautiful, The whole family cleaned their plate, Next time I will add minced garlic with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was just mushy individual meatloaves wrapped in bacon. I didn't care for it, but my husband loved it, hence 4 stars. I'll stick with my Glazed Meatloaf from this site, and add bacon strips to the top. I love meatloaf, but didn't enjoy this. I only ate it because I hate wasting food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States