Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I was a little skeptical about this at first, but I had left over spaghetti squash after making another recipe on this site, and had all the other ingredients on hand. It ended up tasting quite good! It is good either warm or cooled, however we liked it better warm. Thanks for the interesting new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Wow. I was scared to try this pie, but I'm SO glad I did. It was so good. My mother in law and husband couldn't believe there wasn't any coconut in it! It did take a bit longer to cook and when I finally pulled it out after 50 minutes (and my oven runs HOT) it still didn't allow a knife to come out clean, but it was still great. I think I'd recommend cutting the squash up a bit. When it's long and stringy, it's tough to cut each piece. The whipping cream is wonderful on it -- don't skip it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was one of the greatest UNUSUAL recipes ever!!!! This turned out beautifully and I will make it over and over again. I had made this for a church dinner and had several ask for the recipe. We are hoping to try and make this recipe using maple syrup. I will post with the outcome at a later date. Just a note: Those who do not like coconut because of the texture will probably not like this pie as the texture is indicative of coconut...However, I say try it before you knock it. You may be surprised. I love this pie YUM! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KnticEnerG
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Yummy, yummy, yummy!! I just made this recipe and had a piece while it was still warm. It is absolutely yummy--strong vanilla flavor with the texture of, well, spaghetti squash (coconut). It is a yellow color, and I put some cinnamon on top--it smelled scrumptious while baking! Definitely recommend for an easy, tasteful way to get rid of an abundance of spaghetti squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnticEnerG

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Yummy! Hubby really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I thought this recipe was a joke - with a bunch of pre-teen kids giggling at the thought of somebody actually preparing it and serving it to their family. But I had some spaghetti squash left over from dinner and figured, what the heck. What do you know, it's delicious. I will definitely make this again and pass it along to my friends. Thanks for a fun AND tasty quirky dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I was kind of skeptical, but this tasted AWESOME. Even after I replaced the sugar with Splenda, the eggs with egg whites, and the butter with butter spray. It's really delicious and tastes nothing at all like squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChocolatePanda
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
What a surprise! I was looking for something to do with spaghetti squash, found this recipe, tuned down my initial "eww..." and "uh...." reactions, tried it... and I LOVE IT! So does my husband, and his 8 year-old daughter is going to try it tonight - we'll see how she likes it :) TRY IT, TRY IT, TRY IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolatePanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Just make it, seriously, I had my doubts, but I gave it a shot and it was great!!! For anyone not sure how to cook the squash, I cut it in half lengthwise, scraped out the seeds and pulp, and then placed face down on a cookie sheet and baked at 400 for 40 minutes. I let it cool for a little bit and then I scraped out the flesh with a fork. I had a rather large squash and got about 5 cups out of it, so you should only need 1. If you do not cook the squash long enough, the pie may have unwanted liquid. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was an amazing pie. I love spaghetti squash so I was willing to give it a try. I would have never imagined it to taste so good. Not at all like a squash. I will be making this one again (many times) for sure. Will be great for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States