Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I had an extra half of a spaghetti squash sitting in my fridge waiting to be put to use, and this was a fantastic way to do it! I found that just that half was almost a perfect 3 cups. I made a few changes as per other reviewer's suggestions: lessened the sugar to about 1/2 cup, and cut the "spaghettis" up a bit. Also, I omitted one egg and added 1/4 cup of coconut milk instead, as well as adding about a tsp of cinnamon and leaving out the nutmeg (didn't have any at the time), and baked it in a pre-made graham crust I had accidentally bought a while ago. SO GOOD! I planned to add the whipped cream at first, but upon tasting it found it so rich that it really wasn't necessary for me. I'll definitely make it again if I ever need to get rid of some squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was surprisingly tasty! A great way to get in some veggies while satisfying that sweet tooth. I will be making this again. Next time, I'll make sure to cut the shredded squash into short strands. Some of them were a bit too long in the pie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Awesome! Will never make coconut pie again. This will be the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Awesome! I added coconut extract too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamiwaski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Didn't like this one at all. Texture nor taste were anything like coconut pie and I made the recipe exactly as specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was very sweet but the squash was stringy. Not a lot of coconut flavor. I was asked not to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Pretty good pie, a subtle flavour but unique and great texture as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
A good use for leftover spaghetti squash...Not bad, not great on it's own, but would be much better with whipped cream, which I didn't have. It does not taste at all like coconut, and definitely tastes like a squash pie, so if you're looking for coconut, just make coconut! I did follow the other reviews and used half or less of the sugar, and it was plenty sweet. It would definitely be too, too sweet if the full amount of sugar was included. And I have a pretty sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I didn't think this pie tasted anything like coconut, but it had a tasty sweet flavor to it. I used 1/3 C each of white sugar, brown sugar & splenda. I used 4 egg whites and a pre-made graham pie crust. I don't know that I'd make again, because I find the texture weird for a sweet dessert, but I'd consider using the pie filling mixture as it's own side dish as part of a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Okay, so this recipe was FANTABULOUS! Why not 5 stars?? Because imho it tastes nothing like coconut pie, nor does it have the texture of it. It could be I cooked the squash too long, but still - tastes nothing like coconut. With that being said, it tastes soo mouthwateringly delicious! It has a unique flavor of it's own. Better than pumpkin I think. And I will make this recipe again, and serve it as Spaghetti Squash Pie. My husband loved it, and it disappeared fast at a party I took it to. Great recipe! Needs a new name though. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyArndt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States