Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! My teenagers ask for it all the time. They love it for breakfast! Warm or cold! I would recommend always using the oven to bake the squash when preparing it as the pie seems to be watery if the squash is microwaved. I blend the sugar (I use less than a cup), eggs, butter, lemon juice and vanilla in a blender and pour over the squash and stir together and pour into a greased 9X9 dish and bake as recommended until a knife comes out clean. I have never used a pie crust with this recipe and we have never missed it. The squash seems to be a more acceptable texture to most if it is chopped up into small strands before mixing in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Surprisingly yummy! I took other people's advice and only used 1/2 cup of sugar. Also used lime juice instead of lemon, but I don't think it really made a difference as far as taste goes. Even with the 1/2 cup of sugar, this was still pretty sweet, so I can't imagine using the full cup! I think next time I will use 4 eggs instead of 3 because I just like it to be a little more custard-y. Definitely give this recipe a shot because you'll be pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I was realllllyyyy nervous because I added the squash straight from the oven and it seemed to make the egg mixture go runny. Then I thought I added too much squash (I made a mess). BUT it turned out fine!!!! I agree, cut up your squash, maybe drain off the liquid and let it cool after you cook. But it's great!!!! I added 1/4 C coconut just for fun too. Also, this only used up about 1/4 of the squash I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MorganFo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I had an extra half of a spaghetti squash sitting in my fridge waiting to be put to use, and this was a fantastic way to do it! I found that just that half was almost a perfect 3 cups. I made a few changes as per other reviewer's suggestions: lessened the sugar to about 1/2 cup, and cut the "spaghettis" up a bit. Also, I omitted one egg and added 1/4 cup of coconut milk instead, as well as adding about a tsp of cinnamon and leaving out the nutmeg (didn't have any at the time), and baked it in a pre-made graham crust I had accidentally bought a while ago. SO GOOD! I planned to add the whipped cream at first, but upon tasting it found it so rich that it really wasn't necessary for me. I'll definitely make it again if I ever need to get rid of some squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was surprisingly tasty! A great way to get in some veggies while satisfying that sweet tooth. I will be making this again. Next time, I'll make sure to cut the shredded squash into short strands. Some of them were a bit too long in the pie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Awesome! Will never make coconut pie again. This will be the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Awesome! I added coconut extract too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamiwaski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Didn't like this one at all. Texture nor taste were anything like coconut pie and I made the recipe exactly as specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was very sweet but the squash was stringy. Not a lot of coconut flavor. I was asked not to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States