Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Awesome! Will never make coconut pie again. This will be the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Awesome! I added coconut extract too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamiwaski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Didn't like this one at all. Texture nor taste were anything like coconut pie and I made the recipe exactly as specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was very sweet but the squash was stringy. Not a lot of coconut flavor. I was asked not to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Pretty good pie, a subtle flavour but unique and great texture as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
A good use for leftover spaghetti squash...Not bad, not great on it's own, but would be much better with whipped cream, which I didn't have. It does not taste at all like coconut, and definitely tastes like a squash pie, so if you're looking for coconut, just make coconut! I did follow the other reviews and used half or less of the sugar, and it was plenty sweet. It would definitely be too, too sweet if the full amount of sugar was included. And I have a pretty sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I didn't think this pie tasted anything like coconut, but it had a tasty sweet flavor to it. I used 1/3 C each of white sugar, brown sugar & splenda. I used 4 egg whites and a pre-made graham pie crust. I don't know that I'd make again, because I find the texture weird for a sweet dessert, but I'd consider using the pie filling mixture as it's own side dish as part of a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Okay, so this recipe was FANTABULOUS! Why not 5 stars?? Because imho it tastes nothing like coconut pie, nor does it have the texture of it. It could be I cooked the squash too long, but still - tastes nothing like coconut. With that being said, it tastes soo mouthwateringly delicious! It has a unique flavor of it's own. Better than pumpkin I think. And I will make this recipe again, and serve it as Spaghetti Squash Pie. My husband loved it, and it disappeared fast at a party I took it to. Great recipe! Needs a new name though. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyArndt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My first impressions upon reading the recipe did not match the results. This is fabulous! Made it for picky eaters and didn't tell them there was spaghetti squash in it. They ate it and liked it! Would defiantly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Awesome!!! I made a double batch one in a crust and one in souffle cups--warm out of the oven tasted like vanilla custard! Cooled with whipped cream was coconut-ish--but next time I'll toast some coconut and sprinkle it on the top!!!! I just LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States