Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this a week ago,made two using only 1 cup of spenda instead sugar 9 eggs only 3 with yolks everything else was the same.Was going to give 1 away guess what did`nt happen:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Tried it for the first time. Took to work, everyone was amazed. As I was too. will be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I added 2/3 cup of coconut and reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup. didn't add the additional optional spices (nutmeg and cinnamon). It came out great and actually tastes like coconut to the hubby doesn't know he is helping reduce the spaghetti squash bumper crop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kidcook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Awesome! you do have to let the spaghetti squash sit in a bowl after you have scraped it longitudinally out of its shell. then pour off the water. instead of sugar i used spenda a sugar substitute and instead of whipped cream i used Liberty coconut yogurt.. totally AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is a great idea and here are my tweaks. I used 1/4 cup maple syrup instead of sugar as well as 1/4 cup of coconut milk and coconut oil instead of butter. Used vanilla and cinnamon as well. I cut the squash in half length ways and baked it cut side down on a baking sheet in the oven at 350 until very soft. Scooped it out and processed it in a food processor with all the ingredients. I made a piecrust with almond flour and coconut oil and then just poured it in and baked for about 60 mins. I then sprinkled coconut on top and baked another 10 mins until the coconut browned. I served it with coconut "whipping cream" ( Put two cans of coconut milk in the fridge to cool down thoroughly. Then scoop off the solid coconut and add some maple syrup to sweeten. I used about 1 teaspoon and add 1/4 teaspoon salt. Whip it with an electric mixer until soft peaks form and serve immediately. The pie had a lovely coconut flavour from the coconut oil and milk and the sweetness was just perfect. My family could not guess what the main ingredient was and thought it was a coconut pie. This is a really good guilt free dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reinette van Schalkwyk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Yummy recipe, though to me it tastes more like egg custard. I've made this a couple of times and everyone loved it! The taste of squash is nicely hidden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pernot1
Living In: Cortez, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I couldn't wait to try a sliver before the pie completely cooled down. OUTSTANDING flavor! I'm sure it'll taste even better once cooled and with a dollop of whipped cream. The texture of the squash was perfect (not watery at all), but I cheated by pulsing the squash in a food processor 10-12 times for about 5 seconds each time. The pulp looked fairly mashed but had that "flaked coconut" look in the pie filling. I made the squash ahead of time by piercing several times with a fork and heating in a crockpot for 2 hours at "high" setting. Once cooled the squash is easy to slice and gut. I kept in a covered plastic container in the fridge (overnight) until ready to use. Instead of butter I used coconut oil (my husband has it on hand for his Paleo recipes). Don't know if that made any difference in flavor because coconut oil has no real coconut taste. But this recipe is a WINNER in our kitchen. We will make again because we grow spaghetti squash out in our backyard garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTOS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I'm giving this 2 stars because I would have given it 4 but my boyfriend would have given it a 1. I loved the taste but struggled with the texture. He ate one piece and wouldn't touch it. He described this as eating a sauerkraut pie (not that it tasted like that). I made a few modifications. I used only 2 eggs, added in 1/2 a can (about 6 oz) of cocount milk and cut the sugar down to only 1/3 cup. It was plenty sweet with 1/3 cup. I also had to bake it an additional 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States