Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Really good. Made no changes to recipe and it tastes very much like coconut cream pie. My kids gave it a thumbs up too. The only thing I will try next time is to cut up the squash a bit more because there is quit a bit of texture and I personally prefer less :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Added coconut extract. Tasted quite a bit like banana cream pie. Soooo good and a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryJaneHarrison
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Really unusual but delicious recipe. I added a little lemon zest just to brighten the flavor and because we love lemon. My husband and my dad had seconds and would have had thirds if I hadn't removed the pie from the table! Creative way to use spaghetti squash. Take the advice of others and drain off the excess water from the squash after shredding it. Makes a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryJaneHarrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was a great inspiration for a GAPS Diet/Paleo recipe with some modifications. I replaced the sugar with 1/4 cup of honey (and could have cut it even more, next time will try 3 Tablespoons, and then hopefully just 2 Tablespoons would be enough). I omitted the crust entirely (crustless). And I increased the eggs to 4 eggs (will go all the way up to 6 eggs next time). We can't handle dairy, so used coconut oil. This was great for dessert or stand alone breakfast (especially with increased eggs). I could see this being a nice breakfast side dish to have with sausage. My 9 year old child and I are on GAPS Diet. She loved this. My husband is not on a special diet and he loved this as well. Definitely a win when everybody in the house likes a dish. And we did think it resembled coconut pie. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was just ok. However, I did make some modifications: 1. I did not have a crust (which probably would make it taste a million times better if I had) It had the consistency between pumpkin pie and coconut cream. I greased a 9x9 glass pan and baked it. 2. I used 2 eggs and some coconut/almond milk 3. I used 1/4 cup sweetener and 1/4 cup sugar - still kinda had that bitter taste sweetener gives I did cut up the squash into small pieces and let it drain for quite some time before. it took longer than 45mins to cook- probably closer to an hour. I did sprinkle some coconut and cinnamon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrisKreates
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
After tasting the pies made with this recipe, I would do three things different - drain the squash before using, less sugar and add 1/2 cup of whole cream to make the base more of a custard and thus thicker and less runny. Flavor was great but the consistency of what I remembered was off and it dawned on me that milk/cream was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisKreates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I LOVE this pie. A dear friend gives me spaghetti squash from her garden every year, just so I will make this pie and bring it in to work. :) I added coconut extract instead of the vanilla and sprinkled a little shredded coconut on top. I took one reviewers advice and chopped the squash into smaller "threads." I love this cold for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Zeigler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It was a really good pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Only thing is, my 9" pie plate wouldn't hold it all so ended up making 2 pies! Wonderful flavor and next time I'm going to add the nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Perry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States