Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I was kind of skeptical, but this tasted AWESOME. Even after I replaced the sugar with Splenda, the eggs with egg whites, and the butter with butter spray. It's really delicious and tastes nothing at all like squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Just make it, seriously, I had my doubts, but I gave it a shot and it was great!!! For anyone not sure how to cook the squash, I cut it in half lengthwise, scraped out the seeds and pulp, and then placed face down on a cookie sheet and baked at 400 for 40 minutes. I let it cool for a little bit and then I scraped out the flesh with a fork. I had a rather large squash and got about 5 cups out of it, so you should only need 1. If you do not cook the squash long enough, the pie may have unwanted liquid. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Wow. I was scared to try this pie, but I'm SO glad I did. It was so good. My mother in law and husband couldn't believe there wasn't any coconut in it! It did take a bit longer to cook and when I finally pulled it out after 50 minutes (and my oven runs HOT) it still didn't allow a knife to come out clean, but it was still great. I think I'd recommend cutting the squash up a bit. When it's long and stringy, it's tough to cut each piece. The whipping cream is wonderful on it -- don't skip it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! My teenagers ask for it all the time. They love it for breakfast! Warm or cold! I would recommend always using the oven to bake the squash when preparing it as the pie seems to be watery if the squash is microwaved. I blend the sugar (I use less than a cup), eggs, butter, lemon juice and vanilla in a blender and pour over the squash and stir together and pour into a greased 9X9 dish and bake as recommended until a knife comes out clean. I have never used a pie crust with this recipe and we have never missed it. The squash seems to be a more acceptable texture to most if it is chopped up into small strands before mixing in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this turned out. I didn't want to make a crust or go buy one, so I made it crustless. No problem. I didn't want the added fat anyway. It was a too sweet for me. Next time I might cut the sugar in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I was realllllyyyy nervous because I added the squash straight from the oven and it seemed to make the egg mixture go runny. Then I thought I added too much squash (I made a mess). BUT it turned out fine!!!! I agree, cut up your squash, maybe drain off the liquid and let it cool after you cook. But it's great!!!! I added 1/4 C coconut just for fun too. Also, this only used up about 1/4 of the squash I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MorganFo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Photo by ChocolatePanda
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
What a surprise! I was looking for something to do with spaghetti squash, found this recipe, tuned down my initial "eww..." and "uh...." reactions, tried it... and I LOVE IT! So does my husband, and his 8 year-old daughter is going to try it tonight - we'll see how she likes it :) TRY IT, TRY IT, TRY IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolatePanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I thought this recipe was a joke - with a bunch of pre-teen kids giggling at the thought of somebody actually preparing it and serving it to their family. But I had some spaghetti squash left over from dinner and figured, what the heck. What do you know, it's delicious. I will definitely make this again and pass it along to my friends. Thanks for a fun AND tasty quirky dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KnticEnerG
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Yummy, yummy, yummy!! I just made this recipe and had a piece while it was still warm. It is absolutely yummy--strong vanilla flavor with the texture of, well, spaghetti squash (coconut). It is a yellow color, and I put some cinnamon on top--it smelled scrumptious while baking! Definitely recommend for an easy, tasteful way to get rid of an abundance of spaghetti squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnticEnerG

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was one of the greatest UNUSUAL recipes ever!!!! This turned out beautifully and I will make it over and over again. I had made this for a church dinner and had several ask for the recipe. We are hoping to try and make this recipe using maple syrup. I will post with the outcome at a later date. Just a note: Those who do not like coconut because of the texture will probably not like this pie as the texture is indicative of coconut...However, I say try it before you knock it. You may be surprised. I love this pie YUM! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States