Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This pie definitely was better than I thought a spaghetti squash pie would be! However, the taste is bland and the texture is so-so. It was well liked, but not good enough for second helpings! Next time, I will add cinnamon and nutmeg to the filling, so that it is flavored like a pumpkin pie. I think that this would make a significant improvement to the taste. Also, it made enough for two 8" pies, and I cooked them for a full hour. The whipped cream is a MUST! Definitely worth trying, but don't expect it to beat Grandma's pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Love love love. So delicious. It is better served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Lovely surprise, friends thought this was either coconut or pineapple filling. Everyone at dinner asked for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I really had high hopes for this, but I was disappointed. I love spaghetti squash and thought this would be an interesting new way to eat it. I baked my squash in the oven and followed the recipe exactly. But it was somewhat dry and more like a sweet quiche texture than a creamy coconut pie. Maybe I'll try it again and add another egg and some cream to up the creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Absolutely AMAZING!! Enough said! Did use less sugar than recipe called for and still turned out great! Give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topmari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Excellent! My whole family loved it. Very healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. My family loved it and came back for second helpings. I will definitely be making this again. I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the sugar way down from the 2 cups suggested. I used 1/4 cup of sun crystals (which is a mix of stevia and sugar) and it was plenty sweet enough for me. I also used an almond flour crust, as we watch our carbs. I added the optional dusting of nutmeg & cinnamon, which gave it a nice flavor. It tasted like a very nice cross between coconut pie and egg custard. My finished pie based on 8 servings worked out to less than 8 net carbs. I'm so happy I found this recipe, I will be baking it forever. Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bexx
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I followed the recipe (except no crust) and it was just ok. Maybe I beat my eggs too long, not sure. Will maybe try again next time I have extra squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carlyn
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was surprisingly good! I gave it 4 stars because there's no way this would taste like coconut pie without the (1 teaspoon) coconut extract I added. I also left out the optional seasonings because I don't think coconut pie should have cinnamon or nutmeg...MAKE SURE YOU CHOP OF YOUR SPAGHETTI SQUASH STRANDS FIRST! Make sure the bits are pretty small and add the coconut extract. Also, HALF THE SUGAR. It was perfect sweetness with only 1/2 cup of sugar so I couldn't imagine how it would be with the full amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Didn't really care for this. I make a lot of unusual things and make wonderful zucchini cake, crisp & brownies, but this was just so-so. The flavor was good and it smelled wonderful, but the texture wasn't good. I even cut the squash up before adding it like others suggested. Not a favorite. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States