Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Tasted okay, but was looking for that "coconut" flavor and texture. Didn't have either, but wasn't bad- heck, it had eggs, sugar and vanilla- can't taste too bad! Don't think I'll make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made it crustless. Tasted good enough to repeat (like others, I liked the whipped cream), but I wouldn't buy spaghetti squash just to make it. I liked the parts that were really well done the best, as the sugar sort of carmelized. The texture was a little strange, but I've never had coconut pie, so maybe it's a similar texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Mock Coconut Pie? Not sure if this was supposed to actually taste like a coconut pie or just look like one, because it really tasted like a stringy kind of pumpkin pie. It tasted fine, but not really what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ema

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I was very skeptical at first, but this is really an amazing pie. I substituted half of the sugar for splenda added half a can of coconut milk to the recipe. I used a mixture of almond meal and graham crackers as the crust and baked it in a tart pan. It took about 10 extra minutes but it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Really good! I made this as per some other suggestions with 1/2 rather than 1 cup of sugar and a tsp. of coconut extract to replace the vanilla extract. I also replaced the lemon juice with the juice and zest from 1/2 of a lime. Delicious! Fine with or without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
very good! followed direction exactly. wouldn't say it tastes like coconut, maybe more like eggnog. definitely cannot tell that it is spaghetti squash. tried it when pie was still warm & tried it out of the fridge - both very good. worth trying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4eight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
WOW! This pie is so yummy! My picky kids even loved it! I followed the recipe as stated except I only used 1/2 cup sugar and omitted the pinch of nutmeg. The wet mixture fits nicely into one 9 inch deep dish frozen pie crust. Next time I make this I will definitely chop the squash up into shorter strands so that the pie is easier to cut. Also just for fun I might try it sometime with coconut extract like others suggested. This pie doesn't need it though, I just love coconut. :) Oh and we didn't use whipped cream because it's good enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Wow, who would have thought that such an odd squash could taste so good. This is now one of my favourite deserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Good, but a little too sweet. Will halve the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Thanks for this great recipe. Easy and yummy. I made it tonight for my in-laws and they really liked it. Just one thing, I used 3 cups of spaghetti squash and I actually had enough to make 2 pies. I made one with crust and one without the crust. To be honest it does not need the pie crust, but for sure do not miss the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States