Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Good, but a little too sweet. Will halve the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Thanks for this great recipe. Easy and yummy. I made it tonight for my in-laws and they really liked it. Just one thing, I used 3 cups of spaghetti squash and I actually had enough to make 2 pies. I made one with crust and one without the crust. To be honest it does not need the pie crust, but for sure do not miss the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is unbelievable!! Don't let the squash ingredient fool you - it tastes sooo good! I took it to a family gathering and everyone was shocked after eating it that Spaghetti Squash was the main ingredient. I made it just as the recipe stated and it was incredible! This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Like everyone else, I was pleasantly surprised! I cut the sugar to 3/4C, reduced the butter to 3Tbsp and they were great. Also, to further cut the fat and calories, I made them in cupcake tins lines with wonton wrappers from any asian grocery store. Use the square ones, spray the pan first, and use a small glass to press the wonton wrapper into the well of the pan. Fill with the mixture and bake only 30 min. The swap saves almost 100 calories and they make very cute petite desserts or appetizers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Oh my this is soooo good. I did change one thing... instead of vanilla I used coconut extract. It's addictive... I ate almost half a pie in one sitting. I did notice that instead of only making one 9 inch there was enough filling to fill 2 - 9 inch shells right to the top. Which was a good thing seeing as I ate as much as I did lol. If I hadn't been the one to make the pie I would never have known that there was spaghetti squash in there. Over all I will be making this again ... this time to share with my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francina Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Maybe I'd feel differently if I didn't realize what was in this pie, but to me it just tasted like spaghetti squash pie. Not that it was bad, just not something to get excited about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Wonderful Pie! My co-workers loved it (but i waited to tell them what it was until after they tried it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I love this! I make it as a casserole instead of putting it in a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I did not care for this. Tastes like spaghetti squash with sugar in a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Great pie! I made this by adding 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder and about 5 drops of peppermint oil, while omitting the lemon juice, nutmeg and cinnamon. In effect, I changed this into Chocolate Mint Pie, but without the idea of a spaghetti squash pie, I never would have made this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States