Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
What a crazy thing! This was so good but like most others, I was very skeptical, especially because I don't usually like squash (unless it's disguised). This was a super easy recipe to make and it tasted good too! I will definitely make it again. I only had 1 cup of squash so I just made a small batch of this (using a 3rd of everything - 1 egg, etc) and it worked fine - it was small but just for 2 people so it was fine. I also didn't have crust stuff so I put it in a dish and had it more like a casserole/pudding...I will definitely make this again but not sure if I will do the crust - it was delicious without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The BEST pie ever! I never in a million years would have thought this would be good but it was fantastic. The whole family loved it. I was really puzzled by the fact there was no coconut flavoring in this though. I gave four stars because of the changes I made. I omitted the spices (which have nothing to do with coconut cream pie) and added half a can of coconut milk to the eggs and sugar. I did use the vanilla but cut the sugar in half. It taste exactly like coconut custard! SO GOOD! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Tasted okay, but was looking for that "coconut" flavor and texture. Didn't have either, but wasn't bad- heck, it had eggs, sugar and vanilla- can't taste too bad! Don't think I'll make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made it crustless. Tasted good enough to repeat (like others, I liked the whipped cream), but I wouldn't buy spaghetti squash just to make it. I liked the parts that were really well done the best, as the sugar sort of carmelized. The texture was a little strange, but I've never had coconut pie, so maybe it's a similar texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Mock Coconut Pie? Not sure if this was supposed to actually taste like a coconut pie or just look like one, because it really tasted like a stringy kind of pumpkin pie. It tasted fine, but not really what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ema

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I was very skeptical at first, but this is really an amazing pie. I substituted half of the sugar for splenda added half a can of coconut milk to the recipe. I used a mixture of almond meal and graham crackers as the crust and baked it in a tart pan. It took about 10 extra minutes but it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Really good! I made this as per some other suggestions with 1/2 rather than 1 cup of sugar and a tsp. of coconut extract to replace the vanilla extract. I also replaced the lemon juice with the juice and zest from 1/2 of a lime. Delicious! Fine with or without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
very good! followed direction exactly. wouldn't say it tastes like coconut, maybe more like eggnog. definitely cannot tell that it is spaghetti squash. tried it when pie was still warm & tried it out of the fridge - both very good. worth trying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4eight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
WOW! This pie is so yummy! My picky kids even loved it! I followed the recipe as stated except I only used 1/2 cup sugar and omitted the pinch of nutmeg. The wet mixture fits nicely into one 9 inch deep dish frozen pie crust. Next time I make this I will definitely chop the squash up into shorter strands so that the pie is easier to cut. Also just for fun I might try it sometime with coconut extract like others suggested. This pie doesn't need it though, I just love coconut. :) Oh and we didn't use whipped cream because it's good enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Wow, who would have thought that such an odd squash could taste so good. This is now one of my favourite deserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States