Mock Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I loved the result. I did tune it up a bit. Because I must limit my sodium intake, I use sodium free chicken bouillon. I divided the onion into 2/3 clear (sweated in a covered pan over low heat) and 1/3 caramelized. Using the liquid from the sweated onions provides the right amount of moisture to make the final product smooth. To enhance color, I add 1 tbsp of black rice to the lentils. The recipe doesn't specify what type of lentils. I use dried whole lentils that give the final mix appropriate texture. Of course the fiber is an added health benefit. Some folks like a minced hard-boiled egg in their "chopped liver" For those folks, I chop the egg finely and fold it in manually after the product is finished in the food processor. Chilling is crucial. I find that letting it chill overnight in the refrigerator produce the outstanding flavor that I loved as a kid. This is a gluten-free, low sodium, extra low fat vegan dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This simple, nutritious and vegan recipe has become a staple spread in my household. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I was shocked. This is fabulous - tastes a lot like the real thing. Much better and healthier than the versions with canned peas and canned green beans. I served with extra fried onions on top - my grandmother would have been proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Given the number of times that I have made this recipe I'm shocked to find I have never reviewed it - it is an absolutely excellent attempt at a vegetarian version of liver pate, and I love to spread this on crackers, freshly-baked baguette, or toast. Fabulous partnered with a glass of red wine, too. The fiber content makes it very filling, but the texture and taste make it taste very decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this for my Passover seder and ppl couldn't believe how much it tasted like liver. I followed the advice of another reviewer and made the following changes plus one or two more: Take out walnuts, add 1 cup matzo meal instead. Go lighter on salt, added TWO tsp. soy sauce (for brown color and flavor) Add one raw egg Add 2 hard boiled eggs This tastes so much like chopped liver that I actually forget I am eating lentils. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMBERLE3
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I made this for a halloween party, and put it in a brain mold. To make it look even more "brainy" I lighty brushed the top with cherry jam after I plated it. It looked great! And it tasted even better. No one guessed that it wasn't liver and everyone was surprised when I told them. One guest said it was the spices that made it taste so much like pate - I had to tell her there were no spices added to it! I have no idea how it tastes like pate/liverwurst, but it does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBERLE3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made this and I was doubtful that this would taste like chopped liver but, it did! It is really good and easy to make. I am so glad that I have this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Love it!!! Thank you for sharing this. I have made this for almost every party in the past 2 years. It always goes down well and I am always asked for the reciepe by at least one person. It is a simple and safe dish- I never know who is vegetarian or who eats what meat, etc. therefore I replace the chicken boullion with either a seasoning salt (vegeta) or a vegetable bouillon cube. (Always make sure that the walnuts are fresh and have not gone stale)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
When I made this yesterday I tried it and thought "oh well, you can't really expect lentils and walnuts to taste like liver anyways". Oh, what a difference a day makes. After a night in the fridge the consistency and flavor are totally different, and absolutely wonderful! The texture is the only serious giveaway, as it's not quite as homogeneous and creamy as pate. I processed for a long time but some lentil husks just didn't get throughly ground so there's a little bit of a veggie/grainy texture from the fiber. If you can live with that, you will love this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe directed, although I added a fair amount of kosher salt (2-3 tsp) and no pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was an unexpected, delicious and very easy recipe. Like some other reviewers I added garlic and found I needed to add a tiny bit of liquid (vegetable stock) after chilling. Served with pita chips or wheat crackers, this is gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States