Mock Chocolate Cookie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I had to write a review of this. I was kind of skeptical about this recipe because it only had one review. I tried it and it is better than an actual Oreo cookie crust. The best part about it, is I always have the ingredients on hand. It was also very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I love this recipe because it tastes even better than an Oreo crust, and no food processor/ hammer is needed! Don't bake it for more than 10 minutes; otherwise, you'll get a hard shell instead of a crumbly crust (like the texture of a real chocolate wafer crust)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have made this recipe several times in the last few days. The first time, I made it exactly as the recipe stated. It was wonderful, except the sugar crystals crunched a little (might have been the brand of sugar). My husband liked that; I didn't. The second time, I used powdered sugar instead and liked the consistency of the crust much better. Also, I reduce the sugar to 1 c. and even added subbed in some whole wheat flour with success. I will never make an Oreo crust again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malone, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snuggles
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Tastes better than oreo! I was skeptical, cause I really like oreo. I multiplied recipe by 4 and made it in 2 cake pans still using same time. Word of advice, if you make one to crumble and do a sloppy job putting it in pan cause you are planning to crumble anyways, and it gets cooked at different consistency, just go ahead and crumble when cooled and put back in a short time . It turned out great and looks great too! Thank you so much and for all the reviews that talked me into trying ! Update : I kept having issues of the pie shell sticking to the pan, so I started crumbling it all and really love cooking pudding and mixing the crust crumbled inside and on top and it's very good! Lots of people have loved it! The crust is a very good addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Wonderful recipe! Easy with just a few common pantry items. I am gluten (corn and egg) free and this was very adaptable to my dietary needs. I substituted sorghum flour for white flour with very good results. Really I think any flour would work: brown rice, buckwheat, millet or garbanzo! I'm so grateful I found this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I love this recipe, I never have Oreo crumbs but I always have these ingredients, remember to use 325 degrees, burnt my first one since I didn't read the directions properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This tasted very good and a lot easier than crushing up chocolate cookies. The only problem was that I cooked it longer than the 10 minutes, because it didn't look done to me and when cooled, the crust got too hard like another reviewer mentioned. It is probably perfect at 10 minutes like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eda Shah
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I came across this recipe while searching for a substitute to a cookie crust. I have a lot of cocoa powder at home and didnt plan to spend extra cash and time just to get myself a packet of oreo cookies for my latest dessert project (oreos are quite expensive from where I come from) so I wanted something quick and easy that could replicate an oreo crust (if not 100%, at least 70% of it) by using cocoa powder. And I FOUND IT! Made a few adjustments though - I used powdered brown sugar and reduced the amount to half and substituted a 1/4 of the cocoa powder with black cocoa powder. The result: 'cookie-ish' dark bittersweet crust which was exactly what I wanted. Loved the texture, loved the taste. THANK YOU for this great recipe. I most definitely will never ever buy cookies to make crusts again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eda Shah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great and easy crust. I do lower the sugar to 1 cup, though, and careful about that temp and cooking time or it will harden - still yummy, but almost impossible to slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was very easy and tasted great, like a famous cream filled sandwich cookie. I made it as a base for a chocolate espresso cheesecake and since it was still slightly warm when I poured the batter in and baked, the top sort of melted and created a very thin layer of gooey chocolate between the crust and cheesecake. Some guests commented that the crust was the best part of the dessert, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States