Mock Chocolate Cookie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Outstanding! Used it with a peanut butter filling. Decreased sugar to 1cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I thought this came out great, tho be warned as written this is more crust than you need for a normal pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Eda Shah
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I came across this recipe while searching for a substitute to a cookie crust. I have a lot of cocoa powder at home and didnt plan to spend extra cash and time just to get myself a packet of oreo cookies for my latest dessert project (oreos are quite expensive from where I come from) so I wanted something quick and easy that could replicate an oreo crust (if not 100%, at least 70% of it) by using cocoa powder. And I FOUND IT! Made a few adjustments though - I used powdered brown sugar and reduced the amount to half and substituted a 1/4 of the cocoa powder with black cocoa powder. The result: 'cookie-ish' dark bittersweet crust which was exactly what I wanted. Loved the texture, loved the taste. THANK YOU for this great recipe. I most definitely will never ever buy cookies to make crusts again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eda Shah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Great crust, but it's fairly thick, so be aware before you place it in the pie pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Not too impressive. It stuck really bad,would not do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very easy to make and shape into the pan. Flavor is wonderful! I'm using this for a chocolate mousse pie. I'll use it for my next chocolate cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very good and couldn't be easier! I tried this recipe because I couldn't find chocolate wafer cookies in ANY of our local stores. We actually liked this recipe better than our usual chocolate cookie crust! I'm glad the cookies were out of stock everywhere! This will now be our regular chocolate cookie crust for our white chocolate peppermint pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great and easy crust. I do lower the sugar to 1 cup, though, and careful about that temp and cooking time or it will harden - still yummy, but almost impossible to slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I cut the recipe in half to try it for one pie. It turned out well, was easy to mix together, press in the pan, and was quick to make. It is sweet, but it is quite similar to the store bought chocolate crust in taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was very easy and tasted great, like a famous cream filled sandwich cookie. I made it as a base for a chocolate espresso cheesecake and since it was still slightly warm when I poured the batter in and baked, the top sort of melted and created a very thin layer of gooey chocolate between the crust and cheesecake. Some guests commented that the crust was the best part of the dessert, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States