Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I gave it 4 because you have to add gravy which isn't included in the recipe. I was stunned how this held together and everyone thought it was good. It needs to be spiced up a little for us in the future, but I won't ramble on like many do. Just like C.F.S. just don't need a knife to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My kids say this is a five star recipe. I made it gluten free by substituting rice crackers for the saltines. They are not as salty as saltines so I had to add 2 extra teaspoons of salt. They seemed to brown quickly so I only cooked them 5 minutes per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This is really good the its tastey my husband love this it a keeper thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made so many changes that I feel silly even rating this recipe. I used ground turkey seasoned with garlic powder onion powder and pepper. I used saltine crumbs and baked the patties in a 375 degree oven for 30 minutes. They turned out great. Thanks for a chance to have my favorite greasy spoo dinner without the extra fat and calories. Rebecca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This recipe was no to our taste. like others I added an extra egg and it was still dry. It was very bland. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
My Mom is 95 and she knows her Chicken Fried Steak, she loved this. For someone like me that doesn't like to even try and fry steak this is perfect. Tender, seasoned well and served with MacCormicks white gravy it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
very impressed! i figured this wasn't going to be very good because it was "mock" but it was very good! i left out the chili powder and used a bunch of crushed up crackers but other than that, i followed the recipe exactly...like i said, very impressed! the whole family loved it! would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Cooked this last night for my picky family of 5 and had no complaints. Followed the directions of one of the reader by using itallian bread crumbs, 2 eggs .. After 15 mins of baking, removed them from the lined pan and replaced with another sheet of foil to remove the excess fat and turned them over and cooked another 15. Served with creamed white gravy, mashed potatos,corn and bisquits. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was SUPER delicious. It was gobbled up by everyone in my family, including my 2 year old. I didn't change anything at all - although I think next time I may try baking it because it was pretty greasy. I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
We really love this - especially by making some pan gravy to go along with it. I use a mixture of gr sirloin and gr turkey to lighten it up a little and it still turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States