Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This tasted sooooooooooooo good. I NEVER fry anything but i did this and I am glad. I did not measure any of the seasonings i just eyeballed it. I did add minced garlic, onion, mrs dash seasoning and some shredded cheese to the meat mixture. I had a few issues in making this, all my fault! I had problems with my crumbs that fell off burning in the oil, in moving the hot oil in the skillet to a different burning i dripped some and it caught on fire....OOPS, and i made mashed potatoes with it and burnt my stomach with boiling water, I was having a BAD night last night. But when I sat down with my husband to eat it and he ate THREE..it made it all worth it! so tasty and will DEFINITELY make again. I also threw these in the oven at 350 for 10 or 15 minutes on a cookie sheet to make sure they were fully cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I gave it 4 because you have to add gravy which isn't included in the recipe. I was stunned how this held together and everyone thought it was good. It needs to be spiced up a little for us in the future, but I won't ramble on like many do. Just like C.F.S. just don't need a knife to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My kids say this is a five star recipe. I made it gluten free by substituting rice crackers for the saltines. They are not as salty as saltines so I had to add 2 extra teaspoons of salt. They seemed to brown quickly so I only cooked them 5 minutes per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This is really good the its tastey my husband love this it a keeper thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made so many changes that I feel silly even rating this recipe. I used ground turkey seasoned with garlic powder onion powder and pepper. I used saltine crumbs and baked the patties in a 375 degree oven for 30 minutes. They turned out great. Thanks for a chance to have my favorite greasy spoo dinner without the extra fat and calories. Rebecca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This recipe was no to our taste. like others I added an extra egg and it was still dry. It was very bland. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
My Mom is 95 and she knows her Chicken Fried Steak, she loved this. For someone like me that doesn't like to even try and fry steak this is perfect. Tender, seasoned well and served with MacCormicks white gravy it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
very impressed! i figured this wasn't going to be very good because it was "mock" but it was very good! i left out the chili powder and used a bunch of crushed up crackers but other than that, i followed the recipe exactly...like i said, very impressed! the whole family loved it! would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Cooked this last night for my picky family of 5 and had no complaints. Followed the directions of one of the reader by using itallian bread crumbs, 2 eggs .. After 15 mins of baking, removed them from the lined pan and replaced with another sheet of foil to remove the excess fat and turned them over and cooked another 15. Served with creamed white gravy, mashed potatos,corn and bisquits. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was SUPER delicious. It was gobbled up by everyone in my family, including my 2 year old. I didn't change anything at all - although I think next time I may try baking it because it was pretty greasy. I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States