Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Absolutely loved the flavor, I used Italian bread crumbs instead, and I am a garlic lover so of course I added that. My 18 month old son loved it. I paired it with mashed potatoes/ green beans and gravy! YUM I also cut the oil so it was not as greasy, just enough to coat the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abengus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This recipe is great! I cooked for 8, and it was a big hit with all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gotaas Carter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Why this is called Mock Chicken, I'll never know. It's good, but it's just hamburgers. I don't understand the title of Mock CHicken Fried Steak. It IS good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
MMMMmmmm very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Spencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was pretty good. I was very skeptical when I made this because I thought that it would just taste like hamburgers; well I was wrong. I did not add the chili powder, instead I added Lawry's seasoned salt, garlic salt and pepper. I was also out of crackers so I used panko crumbs. I also added the same seasonings I used in the meat on the panko crumbs. Turned out pretty good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was fantastic! I changed a little up, but stuck to the basic idea of the recipe. I left out the chili powder, and added in it's place; garlic, pepper, dry onion soup mix, and a tiny pinch of crushed red pepper. I also substituted the crackers for plain bread crumbs, which I seasoned with garlic, pepper, onion powder and parsley. I fried it for 6 minutes per side in a little bit of olive oil. This turned out to be the best chicken fried steak I have ever had...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
DEFINITELY A HUSBAND PLEASER- I WAS OUT OF CHILI POWDER (JUST NEVER HAPPENS), SO I USED "CAVENDERS" (LOVE THAT STUFF)- PEOPLE HAD SOME HARD TIME KEEPING CRACKERS ON "STEAK", SO I DID WHAT MY FRIEND DOES WHEN SHE MAKES HER CFS- DIP PATTY IN FLOUR, DIP IN EGG WASH, DIP IN CRACKERS- OH, AND I BAKED THESE!! SPRAYED MY PAN AND THEN SPRAYED MY STEAKS, 350 TIL DONE, I PUT ON BROILER LAST COUPLE MINUTES AND MY STEAK WAS BEAUTIFUL!!!!- SERVED WITH "MUSHY PEAS I" AND MASHED POTATOES WITH PEPPER COUNTRY GRAVY... YUM... HUSBAND LOVEDDDD IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was very tasty! The chili powder added a nice, slightly smoky flavor. I did change the recipe by baking, as others suggested, at 380, instead of frying, to avoid extra oil and a messy stovetop. Genius! This was a real kid pleaser, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was a great way to stretch a pound of ground beef. My family loved this and it was very similar in texture and taste to the type of CFS you get from a frozen product. Personally I wasn't impressed, but it was okay. I would eat this again. Thanks for a great way to serve up boring ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was exceptionally good for a "mock" anything. I can't believe how simple it was to make and just how closely it resembled CFS. Tip- you do not want to crush the crackers to finely. A medium blend is perfect for this recipe. My family prefers this to real CFS now because we actually know whats under the breading. This is awesome served with a pepper gravy or country gravy. Simple recipe. Excellent likeness. Will absolutely be sharing with family and friends. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States