Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was a nice change of pace from tacos and burgers, but I think it needs some changes. As written, the chili powder is overwhelming and the crumbs don't stick to the patties. I would half the amount of chili powder and dip the patties as regular chicken fried steak--flour, egg, flour or cracker crumb. I lined and sprayed a baking sheet and cooked at 375 for 30 minutes like another reviewer suggested. They cooked up great, but forgot to make the patties thin, as they shrink and plump when cooked. I loved that these can be baked, so much healthier for you. Next time I will try these changes and it could be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was awesome and so much easier than making real chicken fried steak! I adjusted the seasonings a little ( added Montreal steak seasoning and cut back on the chili powder), but followed the recipe exactly after that. Served it w/ gravy, mashed potatoes, and green beans, YUM! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Awesome recipe!! Being from Texas, I've had my share of chicken fried steak...and I have to say, this tasted amazingly authentic. I have never had success making chicken fried steak at home, until now!! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using dried parsley. I didn't have any problem with the cracker crumbs falling off and burning, nor were the steaks overcooked. I did cook them in two batches with half of the oil. I served them with country gravy, mashed potatoes and corn. This was comfort food at its best...the entire family gobbled it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine32019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was SO good! I really didn't think it could possibly taste like the real deal, but it did!! YUM! Paired with mashed potatoes/white gravy = pure comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I followed this recipe with following exceptions: I ran out of crackers so I used cornflakes for the outer crust. Also, I cooked each sid eonly 3-4 minutes and it was well done. I served this the first time with mashed potatoes and cream of mushroom for gravy. This recipe warmed up well out of the fridge and served again with corn and green beans. Very filling and husband pleasing, had everything on hand, will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Sorry but i did NOT like this. Very bland to me needs more flavor. I even had it with milk gravy. Maybe i used to lean of burger because it was very dry and not moist at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was a big hit! I used Panko bread crumbs instead of crackers but that was the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was a very pleasant surprise. Great flavor! I made a pepper milk gravy to put over and it was a hit at my house. Used only enough oil to thinly coat the pan, but otherwise made as written. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Garden Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
What a great idea! I only had ritz type crackers in the pantry for the coating-I just realized I forgot to add any into the ground beef mixture but it was still delish. I made a milk gravy in the pan with 2 tbl. of the drippings, 2 tbl. flour and 1 cup milk and served it over the meat and mashed potatoes for a side. Sliced vine ripened tomatoes for our veggie, gosh I felt like I was at grandmas house back east once again. Comfort food for sure! Thank you, OJ for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Absolutely loved the flavor, I used Italian bread crumbs instead, and I am a garlic lover so of course I added that. My 18 month old son loved it. I paired it with mashed potatoes/ green beans and gravy! YUM I also cut the oil so it was not as greasy, just enough to coat the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abengus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States