Mock Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I love CFS but often I find that it's not the tenderest cut of meat and I hate to have CFS that is chewy.I love this recipe it was great, so easy to make & tender. Now here is what I did different from the recipe: I had some Spicy Tennessee Pride roll sausage left over from yesterday's breakfast that I mixed in to make it stretch and to give it a kick, I was out of parsley, I used just a teaspoon of chili powder, lightly seasoned the meat with garlic & onion powder, salt, black pepper, Tony Chachere's Famous Creole Seasoning, & Cavender's Greek Seasoning. Also I would suggest crush the saltine crackers very fine in a bag. I served it with Southern Mills Old Fashion Pepper Gravy, and mashed potatoes. Next time I make this I'm going to do it breakfast style with cheddar scrambled eggs, & hash browns,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ice_On_Soul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was really tasty, and of course less chewy than chicken fried steak I've had. I made some simple beef gravy, but white gravy would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
These were yummy, although I must admit I didn't exactly follow the recipe. I used the chili powder but I added a packet of Ranch dressing mix. Next time I will add some onion soup mix, i just didn't have any today. Oh - and I added an extra egg. As for the cooking - i did it two ways. Fried them in canola oil for my kids and baked at 380 in the oven for about 30 minutes for me. Both ways were equally yummy. No need to add all those fat grams -- the baked were crispy and yummuy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Mine tasted like meatloaf patties, not sure if I messed up or what but we're big fans of meatloaf so there were no complaints. Definately CUT BACK the cook time. I forgot to make gravy so we topped with bbq and ketchup. My family genuinely loved this so I can't vote it poorly but I wasn't happy with it. I'm a very amateur cook and had hoped for a tad more wow effect considering the attention those little buggers required, the impossible to clean pan afterwards, and the blasted bread crumbs when they somehow find their way to the floor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I have to give this 5 stars. This was excellent and easy to prepare. I cooked for the recommended time and it was about right. I probably could've done about 5 mins on each side though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This was delicious. I didn't have chili powder so used Tabasco Green, also crackers in the mixture and bread crumbs for the topping. I combined recipes with "Country Fried Stack and Milk Gravy" by using their recipe for the gravy. Also because I thought the roux would turn out better, I used butter to fry rather than oil. Perfect for a cold February night in Wisconsin. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saugatuck, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used Panko crumbs to coat the patties and saltine crackers in the mixture, used extra lean ground beef, and added some seasoning salt and pepper. Used very little oil in the pan. Did not refrigerate ahead. And, it was easy and delicious. No question, a 5-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My eldest son liked this but the two younger ones and husband snubbed it. I have to admit, it didn't taste very good. Maybe because I used Panko crumbs instead of saltine crackers. I need to try this with saltine crackers to be able to give a fare rating. This is a good alternative though, to use ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Would they serve this in a 5 star restaurant? no, probably not...so why the 5 star rating then?! Because for so few ingredients and so little time, this is really really good. All I had on hand was some ground beef I needed to use and was sure I didn't wan't tacos, or pasta, as most ground beef recipes are. I came across this recipe and thought "why not?" For the herbs/spices I substituted 1 tablespoon of steak seasoning and used bread crumbs instead of saltines because it's what I had on hand. Quick, easy, and filling. We put some country gravy on top. Kids loved it and I will definetly add this to the rotating menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
no matter how you slice it ? it's breaded meatloaf. It just doesn't have the same taste and texture as real chicken fried steak. It reminded me of when I'm out of coffee and have to resort to tea. no matter how strong I make it it just isnt' coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLFOUCHEY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States