Mock Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I've been making this amazingly simple dip for over 10yrs. The first time I had this dip was at a potluck. I didn't know who made it to ask for the recipe. I just knew there were olives in it. I scoured the Internet and found this recipe, I don't think it was on this site though.. Every time I make it, I get compliments and requests for the recipe. it's a family favorite and now my daughters serve it up. The only thing I do a little different is I process everything in a mini chopper to make it a little finer, so there aren't big chunks of tomato or chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was good and easy to make. I only made half of the recipe as it yields quite a bit and it was only for me to snack on. It didn't blow me away but I did eat it all up with corn chips and I could actually see this served over crostini as well. I really don't like the name of the recipe though. Mock Caviar?? Why? Because it is mostly black? Not all caviar is black and it definitely tastes nowhere near. I'd rather call it Olive Salsa as it is called in the description and more people might be willing to give it a try. Oh well. Like I said, good over all but not something out of this world (at least for my taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
served this for a catering job.. everyone loved it. used red and green chips for christmas. just threw it all in the food processor and chopped away. better day 2!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is good but not great. It may be just my taste because others appear to really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
So good you could just eat it with a spoon!! Great flavors!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwbarker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luckey, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
We liked this recipe but thought it got a little too "juicy". Maybe need to drain the tomatoes a little or not add the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Wonderful dish to make a day ahead & take to a party. My favorite way of doing things, so that I may focus on looking beautiful before a party instead of cooking :) I have made this a few times and people are ALWAYS asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This one is a winner! I could eat the whole batch by myself! I highly recommend making it a day ahead so the flavors coagulate and fuse together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Easy to make and very yummy! Instead of using olive oil, I purchased diced tomatoes that had olive oil and garlic already mixed-in. Still used garlic because I love it. Use Lawrey's Season Salt to give it that extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
We loved the "caviar" I made for Super Bowl! I Californized mine, adding 1 - 15 oz. can pinto beans, more garlic and onion, cilantro and using fresh jalapeno instead of the green chilis. I was lazy so used about 12 oz. -3/4 of a bottle- of zesty Italian salad dressing. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States