Mock Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I use this recipe all the time for wedding cakes when requested. This is not an angel food cake it is a MOCK angel food cake, thus it is heavier almost sponge like. This recipe will fill what we call a 1/2 sheet cake pan and will serve 40-58 depending on how large your portions are. Half this for standard 13x9 pan. This is the best recipe for Mock angel food cake I have found. TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Deslauriers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I scaled this to half using 2 cups of all purpose flour and put it in a jelly roll size pan lined with parchment paper (to make it easy to remove from the pan). I read another similar recipe that cooked at 400 degrees and since several reviwers said the cooking time indicated wasn't enough, I used the higer temperature. For my smaller batch, 15 minutes at 400 degrees worked perfectly. This is the oddest recipe ever but it really works, though you'll have your doubts when pouring boiling water into the flour mixture. The cake is just a bit heavier than traditional angel food, but that was good for my purposes, I wanted to make a rolled cake. I turned the very warm cake onto a tea towel dusted with powdered sugar and rolled it up till cool, then unrolled and filled with lemon filling. Frosted with whipped cream it was a very light and tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I drove to three different grocery stores today looking for an angel food sheetcake.. and it turns out it was MUCH easier to make one with this recipe. It was amazingly easy to make and came out wonderfully. After reading the other reviews that said the recipe made a LOT of cake, I decided to halve everything and use a 9x13 pan. It worked perfectly, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I halved this recipe and used a 9x12 pan and it was more than enough for 8-10 servings. Since I used a dark metal pan, I baked at 345 for 25-30 minutes - the recipe is quite easy - 1st time I've had an angel food cake turn out. The recipe is a little heavier than most angel food cakes, but perfect for a shortcake. I didn't have cake flour, so I used (in the 1/2 recipe) 2 cups all purpose flour and 1/4 cup cornstarch to substitute and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Great cake. I had trouble with the size of the recipe fitting my bowls! I had to bake it in 2 9"x13" pans. From now on, I'll make 1/2 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
This cake is good, but I have made it 3 times now and every time it takes a good 30 minutes extra cooking time before it is cooked all the way through. Also, it serves way more than 10 people! Tastes great though, especially iced with whipping cream and trimmed with fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I made this as a sheet cake and it came out of the pan just fine. I rolled it, using a lemon filling from allrecipes and it was an absolute hit. However, the rolled cake MUST sit for at least 6 hours so the cake absorbs the filling's moisture - it IS a dense cake and will be chewy if you cut into it too soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Suggestions: pan size should be 12x18x2inches baking time could possibly be a litle longer. Also be sure to use a really lge bowl for the flour sugar mixture.Kitchen Aid mixer bowl was too small. My family really loves this cake and I make lemon curd and always have egg whites to use up.I serve smaller size than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is the best cake ever. I made this for my daughter's first bday. Everyone asked me for the recipe. Takes a little while to make, but make sure to follow the recipe exactly. I loved the texture and topped it with a whipped cream frosting and strawberries. Wish I could eat this every day!!! Also, this is a huge recipe, halved still makes a very larg cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Rather heavy, unlike most boxed angel food cakes. It was almost impossible to separate the all the yolks and whites. After I was done making it it tasted quite nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States