Mock Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I also got this same recipe from a grandma--she swears you have to freeze the cake for a least a week so it's more tender--work for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Followed the recipe, but found it a bit stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This cake is so yummy! If you don't like angel food/spongy cake, this is not the recipe for you. For us angel food cake lovers, it's great! I read all of the reviews before making it and cut the recipe in half (I use a casserole dish to make my sheet cakes). My dish is dark glass, so I cooked it at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and this was perfect (I may take it out a minute or two earlier next time, but 15 was not enough). The cake rose like it should and I think those that may have had trouble with it rising probably either greased their pan, used a non-stick pan or did not beat the egg mixture long enough for it to peak. I added a whipped cream cheese icing to the cake and put strawberries and blueberries on top - WOW! Can't wait to serve it for our 4th of July cookout tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This cake is awesome! I wanted a denser angel food cake for a strawberry shortcake and this really fit the bill. It was so easy to make and everyone loved the taste! Made exactly as the recipe states. No substitutions needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Could have been a little lighter, but that may be because I deflated the egg whites a little when I folded them into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is the best cake ever. I made this for my daughter's first bday. Everyone asked me for the recipe. Takes a little while to make, but make sure to follow the recipe exactly. I loved the texture and topped it with a whipped cream frosting and strawberries. Wish I could eat this every day!!! Also, this is a huge recipe, halved still makes a very larg cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Great Recipe. My fiends son is alergic to dairy and this was wonderful. I used it in my Wilton Winnie the Pooh Pan, and frosted it just like I usually do I was a hit. I also used it in a Pan to make little lady bug and butterfly cakes for a tea party and even the kids who thought they did not like cake loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. It was very heavy, very dense, and too chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Super easy, turned out perfectly! Great recipe, I'd love to try it for a wedding cake. A 12x18-inch pan makes about 54 servings, though NOT 10! (cut 2"x2")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe was great for making petit fours. Following the advice of others, I halved the recipe then baked it in a 1x18x12 baking sheet (lined on the bottom with waxed paper) and cut it into rectangles with an electric knife (cookie cutters didn't work). Be careful not to over bake--it becomes slightly rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States