Mock Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Snickers9584
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I'm shocked to have found this recipe. This is the identical cake recipe my grandma used for peanut cake or also known as "Blarney Stones" ..cut into squares, frost all sides with a thin white frosting and roll in crushed peanuts. Try this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snickers9584

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Terribly dense and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Made this tonight. Was a little weirded out reading the recipe, but read the reviews and gave it a whirl. This will now be my go to cake for strawberry shortcake! A few tips: 1. split the eggs and ingredients in half before whisking. I've got the big kitchenaid stand mixer and once they started whipping up quickly overfilled my bowl. 2. Don't leave the tea towel under too long. Sticky. 3. Sift the full three times. You'll understand after the third sift, even while your hand is cramping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Love this recipe! I have made it many times and my family loves it! Tastes awesome frosted with the "Wedding Cake Frosting" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I halved the recipe and made a 9x13. I only had all purpose flour, used 2 cups and it was still a bit too floury, need to try it again with cake flour. Other than that, it was really easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was awesome, the mixture was a bit strange, however it turned out super. Very large recipe. Will cut it in half next time. My son wants this for his birthday. LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Cake baked and cooling..smells great...have not tasted as of yet (still cooling)...I made a 1/2 batch to sample this cake, going by the calulation chart.My cake only rised to about 1.5 inches?? is this right? or perhaps someone know why. All help/answers welcomed :) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Makes an awesome strawberry shortcake! Just top with fresh whipped cream and fresh fruit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I was excited to try this, but I just didn't enjoy it. Way too dense for my liking and the taste was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I have been making this recipe for several years now and it always turns out perfect! I do whip up the egg white mixture in 2 batches because I can't fit all puffed up 16 eggs in my mixer at one time. I think a trick for keeping it really moist is to make sure that you cool the cake upside down on a tea towel; that seems to trap in the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States