Mochiko Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was really good! I only marinated for about 8 hours and it was very flavorful. I used breast tenders and next time will fry at 360 ° instead of 350° as they got a little dried out trying to get them nice and golden brown. Leftovers were just as good. I made a dipping sauce out of soy sauce, sesame oil, siracha, rice wine vinegar and sugar. I think I enjoyed the leftovers even more. Definately will make these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
THESE ARE FANTASTIC!!! I had never heard of Mochiko Chicken before. I've already made them twice in ten days and can't get enough. I'm not a meat-lover but these I can't resist. Family really liked these and gobbled them up. The chicken came out looking exactly like the photo, was easy and quick, using ingredients I mostly had on hand already; used EV coconut oil for one batch and combo veg. oil for the other. I never add salt when recipes call for soy sauce. Didn't have green onions, only dehydrated so I used those. I keep wanting to upload a photo but they literally don't last until the whole batch is fried! Thank you, thank you for this incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Love the recipe. I've noticed that some people think that it's too salty or strong so I have a suggestion. I don't know if this is available everywhere but....I use Aloha Shoyu, which is a Hawaiian version of regular soy sauce. It is has a much lighter taste than the regular soy sauce. Mochiko chicken is a popular dish in Hawaii and uses Aloha Shoyu instead of soy sauce. I use it all the time and never salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made mochiko chicken for the first time using this recipe and agree about the saltiness. The next time I'm going to use low sodium soy sauce and not add salt. For those of you using a deep fryer set the temperature to 350 degrees frying for 7 minutes using medium size drumsticks and thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ng

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This recipe is definitely too salty. Next time I will make this recipe with no salt in it as the soy sauce makes it salty enough. I did not marinate it over night and it was potent enough and yes it does dirty the oil. :)I will make this again tweaking the ingredients or adding maybe others (honey etc) and experimenting. Besides the salt issue it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This came out great! I didn't add the salt just because of the fact that soy sauce is plenty salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Our family thought this was ok, but we weren't all that impressed. Too salty, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This recipe was a bit hit with my family and friends. It was easy to make and tasty. My only concern ws that this recipe dirties the oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
It was ok but I've had better. I think I will keep looking for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for. Moist and tender, flavorful and perfectly browned. I took the extra time to make sure the tendons and connecting tissues were removed. It was worth the time spent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States