Mocha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
A lot of milk, but if you like it creamy this is a good recipe. I use half as much milk and this is a perfect basic recipe for a mocha latte.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this today to try it out. I have been interested in trying new coffee recipes lately! I halved the recipe and just used a strong brewed 1/2 cup or so of coffee. I realized at some point the best part of the good coffees is the steamed milk anyway in my opinnion. I also used lite chocolate syrup to cut back a little on the sugar. I topped with a little lite whipped cream and a tad of syrup drizzled on. Some cocoa powder dusted on would probably be good to. I made another recipe this week and the milk was warmed in a pot on med-low and then whisked briefly with a hand whisk. It worked just as well without the battery operated whisk if you do not have one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Almost as good as the coffee shop that I used to go to 10 years ago...almost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Yummy! Also good with a splash of mint or peppermint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngcow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This makes a decent mocha. It wasn't overwhelmingly awesome, but pretty tasty. I followed the recipe and I added homemade whipped cream on top. I also dusted the top with cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I really liked this recipe! I did substitute a few things though. I really like my mochas to be creamy, so I substituted the 2% milk for cream. I also mixed cocoa powder with it instead of chocolate syrup, and then added a little sugar. I also added a little vanilla extract and a pinch of salt. (It does sound weird to add salt, and I was a little skeptical at first, but if you only add a little you can't really taste the salt, it just brings out the flavor.) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
just what I needed on a cold snowy day - definitely did NOT want to have to leave the house for one. Skipped the whip, but loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
You can never go wrong with these ingredients! This is a great recipe, but it is pretty heavy on the milk. You may need to play around with the ratios if you like your coffee stronger. My ideal blend is 1 cup of milk with two - 1.5oz shots of strong espresso and 2-3 generous tablespoons of chocolate syrup. If cost isn't an issue, go for a good chocolate sauce rather than a syrup, like Fontana, Torani, or Ghiradelli chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was ok. I think there needs to be more chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very delicious!! All though i would warm up the milk right before putting it in so the warmth doesn't get drowned out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States