Mocha Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I used 3 tablespoons of Dutch chocolate powder instead of the chocolate squares and it was fabulous! Visually pleasing as well as scrumptious!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Pretty great recipe, but my comments are as follows: - Used a graham cracker crust which worked - Used cocoa powder instead of choc and that was fine (made sure cocoa was mixed into the coffee without lumps before adding) - My pie burned a little bit so I think I will bake at 160 C for 30 mins next time - It was too "set" for my liking - I would have preferred some more "wobble", so I may reduce the eggs to 1... but maybe the reduced bake temp & time would fix that? - I could not really taste the coffee flavour (with Mocha, you need more coffee and mild choc), but that may be the brand of coffee I used. Next time I will do 2 T cocoa + 2 T coffee. - I melted butter in saucepan and mixed in the pan as directed, but for the next time, I will probably just melt butter in the microwave and then mix in a normal mixing bowl. - BUT it was still an excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baker at  heart
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
BEST PIE I've ever had!! Hands down!! Wow, it's so good w/ the slight coffee flavor and the chocolate custard layer is so velvety smooth. Best served chilled :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Quick, easy, and so rich and chocolately! This is the perfect pie to make when you want to impress guests and not spend a lot of time in the process. I have made it with walnuts and almonds, and both were delicious. I think I may actually prefer almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
A very delicious pie! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Ohhhhhhhh the best! I loved the chocolate sauce, am going to use it for other recipies. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alondra Solá

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SBrikho
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was good. I probably wouldn't make it again though as it was not memorable. This got an extra point for being so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This one was hard for me to rate, as I was unable to taste it myself (due to food allergies), so I just had to go on the overall opinion of my extended family. Everyone agreed that the flavor was good, but that it wasn't anything spectacular. I added an extra star to the three star rating they recommended for ease. It was an easy recipe, something I had all the ingredients for, and probably would've gotten a little better reception if it had been at a more casual type gathering, and not a Christmas dinner, being compared to more fancy, elaborate desserts. All in all, I'd recommend others to try the recipe, and I'm glad I did try it...it just probably won't be my go-to Christmas party dessert recipe. Thank you for sharing though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This recipe is easy and fast and delicious. I put in a touch extra coffee and cocoa, because I like a stronger taste, and I used pecans instead of walnuts, because I thought i would go better. I served it cold, with whipped cream, because that seemed to be what the other reviewers did, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States